Reply
Logi Nu
AMDB
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-31-2011

Alert 750i + 700e add-on camera: Cameras were detected but failed after a few minutes

Hi,

 

I have a logitech 750i master system plus a 700e internal camera add-on.In a nutshell, the system worked initially but only with the internal camera. Then the camera failed / disconnected in Commander, and I haven't been able to reconnect it since. Actually the problem got progressively worse. Now for the long version:

 

I plugged in the wireless router adapter to the mains and then to the router via the LAN cable. I also plugged in the internal camera to the mains via the supplied cable and mains adapter. The system worked initially when using Alert Commander but then failed. It detected the camera, then after about 10 minutes lost the connection. I did some diagnostic tests as follows:

 

1 - Disconnect and reconnect camera from mains:

 

- Light under the unit eventually turns light blue and stays that colour, and the front light is flashing red. After about 10 attempts the camera has been detected once very briefly.

- I checked the router (Netgear VMDG280) and it detected the camera (192.168.0.7), but the Commander still did not detect the camera.

- I checked all firewalls and turned everything off.

 

2 - Try connecting laptop directly to the router by LAN cable:

 

- Has no effect, actually the problem got worse. The router then stopped detecting the camera as a device.

- I found that the blue light on both the router power adapter and the camera adapter is usually not on. Every once in a while it starts flashing but then turns off after a few minutes. The green light stays on.

- The light under the camera is yellow so it is in stand-alone mode.

 

3 - Connect the camera to the same room as the router:

 

- Does not solve the problem. Now the router is not detecting the camera, the camera is on stand-alone mode, and the blue light on both adapters is not flashing. The red light on the front of the camera is still flashing.

 

4 - Try different combinations of power adapters and LAN cables:

 

- No change.

 

5 - Do a factory reset of the camera:

 

- No change.

 

6 - Reboot the router:

 

- No change, however I did notice that turning off the router power seemed to get the blue light on again on the power adapter for the router LAN connection, which stayed on for a while after turning the router back on but then went off after a few minutes again.

 

7 - Try disconnecting the LAN cable from both power adapters to see if the blue light comes back:

 

- The blue light does come back if I just plug in the power adapters without any LAN cables / router connection. But it didn't come on immediately and as soon as I connect the router again the light goes dead.

 

So, I don't think this is a problem with the hardware supplied, but the system has gone from working at first briefly, to not working at all. I should add that I also plugged in the external camera to the mains at the beginning and that was never detected, so I gave up on that and focused on the internal camera. While the internal camera was connected to Commander I updated the camera's firmware successfully. The problems started shortly after that.

 

Is this a known problem with this router model? I really can't think of anything else. Any hardware or cable problem would have been found, there was no firewall problem (the cameras didn't even get detected by the router eventually but it did work at first). Unless it is an issue with the power ring in my flat, but I tried almost every outlet in the flat, including the one that initially worked. It is a small flat with 2 floors, about 1000 square feet. I connected direct to the outlet (no power strips), and I downloaded the Alert commander software from the internet.

 

Thanks.



Logi Nu
AMDB
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-31-2011

Re: Alert 750i + 700e add-on camera: Cameras were detected but failed after a few minutes

For anyone experiencing a similar issue, this was resolved by removing the Security Key via advanced settings in security, unticking security key, then turning everything off, restarting the computer and then restarting the system in the following order:

 

1 - Computer

2 - Commander software

3 - Router

4 - Cameras

5 - Factory reset of cameras with a paperclip

 

Then it worked fine, so it seems that it's just the security key that caught me out. That's a relief!

Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
Kiruban
Posts: 820
Registered: ‎04-13-2010

Re: Alert 750i + 700e add-on camera: Cameras were detected but failed after a few minutes

Please try the suggestion that was provided by AMDB. It is usually the cause.

 

 If that does not work, then Perform the below Provided steps :

 

  1, Bring your Camera to the Same room as your Router is.

  2, Take out the SD card from within the Camera

  3, We are going to totally bypass your Router and eliminate it as a possibility

  4, Take the ethernet cable and plug it directly into the back of your Computer into the Ethernet Port.

  5, Plug and Power up your Camera, The light on the bottom of the camera, beside the Microphone will blink red/yellow (indicating Missng SD Card/sd card error)

  6, Disable any Anti Virus softwares that you may have, including your Windows Firewall if it is (Windows 7)

  7, From your Commander, try to find your Camera. Usually it will just pop up automatically after 10 - 40 seconds. (If you need, reset the camera using a Paper clip and hold on until all the lights goes out completely and then let it go)

  8, Once you Find your Camera, Update the firmware on the camera.

  9, Unplug the Camera , insert the sd card and hopefully the light will turn to a solid blue

10, Wait a few seconds and let it find the camera and ensure proper operation and then move it to wherever you want.

11, Unplug the Ethernet cable at this point from your Computer, plug it back into your router and try to find your Camera(s) and if it finds it, you are golden.

 

Try to turn on any AV and your Firewall one by one and see if you are able to see the Camera's, If it drops when turning on anyone, that is your Problem. All you need to do at that point is enable the an exception for the LogitechAlertCommander.exe and you should be fine.

 

 If it works on your Computer and when you plug it into your Router, it disappears, then you have a firewall or ports that are being blocked which you would have to open and allow access to the camera's to work properly.

 

 Let me know how it goes.

 

Regards,

Kiruban
Logitech Support Specialist

If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Logi Nu
weciii
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-17-2011

Re: Alert 750i + 700e add-on camera: Cameras were detected but failed after a few minutes

Hi,

 

Question for Kiruban.

Is there a fix in the works for the enter the password and lose the camera problem which is worked around by following steps from AMDB? Also, could you tell us what security benefits are acheived by password protecting the camera if it didn't cause camera detection to fail? This may be detailed somewhere else - please tell me where if so :]

Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
Kiruban
Posts: 820
Registered: ‎04-13-2010

Re: Alert 750i + 700e add-on camera: Cameras were detected but failed after a few minutes

Hello weciii,

 

Enter the Password and loose the Camera is actually not a Problem. We have conformations from few customer that it works.

 

 If you have say 3 camera's and you have got it working and then you set a password in the Commander, the Password will take effect for all the 3 camera's. You decided to get an additional 2 camera's , disable the password and then find the camera's. 

 

 There was a problem with this but, the engineers have managed to get it resolved.  

Regards,

Kiruban
Logitech Support Specialist

If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Logi Nu
mateyaje
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-22-2011

Re: Alert 750i + 700e add-on camera: Cameras were detected but failed after a few minutes

I have 2 700e security cameras.. Since day one it is a gamble if i will be able to view them online or from the desktop computer which Alert Commander is installed on.  I can't believe for the cost of these cameras that you can only live view from my tablet for maybe 30 seconds before it either kicks me out completely (to my home screen) or asks me to hit the play icon to continue viewing?  what kind of security system only lets you watch for 30 seconds at a time.. then 9 times out of 10 I have to force close the app in order to even bring the camera back up.  Which 50 percent of the time dont work.  Please fix these crappy cameras... please !!

 

 

Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
Kiruban
Posts: 820
Registered: ‎04-13-2010

Re: Alert 750i + 700e add-on camera: Cameras were detected but failed after a few minutes

 @ mateyaje

 

 May I please know what kind of Tablet that you have? I am requesting for this information so I can provide this information to the Product specialist if the issue persists.

 

 Also, May I get you to perform a clean up of your Cache/Cookies from your Tablet.  

 

May I get you to perform these steps:

 

 1, Please go to the settings on your tablet and see if you can clean the cache/cookies

 2, Uninstall the app from the tablet

 3, Cold boot your tablet (Like restarting your computer after uninstall a software so it gets rid of any residual files)

 4, Install the app once again and try to see if you can re-create the same issue.

 

 Let me know how it goes.

Regards,

Kiruban
Logitech Support Specialist

If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Logi Nu
mateyaje
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-22-2011

Re: Alert 750i + 700e add-on camera: Cameras were detected but failed after a few minutes

i have a Samsung galaxy 10.1 and 7 inch one. I have spoken with support and we figured out that it was a power issue. I changed outlets and so far things seem to be better. I will update this forum if the problem resurfaces. thank you for your reply. Jason
Logi Nu
mateyaje
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-22-2011

Re: Alert 750i + 700e add-on camera: Cameras were detected but failed after a few minutes

The problem ended up being the outlet the hub was plugged into. Once I switched the to a different outlet it has been working much better. Thank you support for figuring this problem I was having out.