Reply
Logi Browser
mkertzman
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-31-2006
Accepted Solution

Alert Commander can't see a camera, but remote viewer can

[ Edited ]

I have a four-camera Alert System - all camera firmware and PC software is updated.  Alert Commander is running on a 64-bit Windows 7 system.  Everything works fine, but I have two issues with one camera.

 

First, Alert Commander tells me the camera is offline and was last seen 4 days ago, however remote viewing, both web and iPhone, sees it perfectly.  Also, this same camera won't record on motion detection.  I've tried adjusting sensitivity and motion detecting area, but it just won't record - the other 3 cameras on my system record just fine.

 

Any thoughts, suggestions or help would be much appreciated.  Thanks.

 

Mitchell

Support Specialist
Trevor_F
Posts: 1,288
Registered: ‎01-08-2010

Re: Alert Commander can't see a camera, but remove viewer can

Hi Mkertzman,

 

For the camera that is not working, it is recommended to unplug the Power Supply for 30 seconds, and plug it back in. If it does not immediatly show up in Commander, try going to Settings and run another Find My Cameras.

Trevor F
Escalation Supervisor
Knowledgebase | Downloads + Get Parts | Contact Support | Manuals | Warranty | Rebate
If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Jmz
Logi Apprentice
Jmz
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎09-23-2010

Re: Alert Commander can't see a camera, but remove viewer can

[ Edited ]

I would suggest you try to reformat the camera SD card on the misbehaving camera from the web or PC Commander SW.   You could also remove the micro SD card and format it from your PC.  Then power cycle the camera.

Logi Browser
mkertzman
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-31-2006

Re: Alert Commander can't see a camera, but remove viewer can

Jmz - I apologize for not replying sooner, but I was traveling.  Your suggestion to format the SD card fixed the recording issue completely.  Thanks very much for your help.

 

Mitchell

Logi Browser
mkertzman
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-31-2006

Re: Alert Commander can't see a camera, but remove viewer can

Thanks, Trevor - I'll apologize to you also for the delay in responding - I was traveling. 

 

Your solution worked eventually, but I think it did show that the software/firmware still isn't quite right.  I unplugged the power supply on my non-functioning camera (although it's still a mystery to me how it can show up in the remote viewer but not the Commander client) and plugged it back in and tried finding cameras.  When I did that, the non-functioning camera was visible, but the three other cameras were not!  I've seen this happen before.  What proceeded then was something like whack-a-mole where I unplugged and replugged various cameras several times before I could get them all to be seen by Commander. 

 

As I mentioned, I'd seen this behavior before, and I think it indicates that there's still some work to be done on camera discovery.

 

Thanks for your help - everything seems to be working fine now.

 

Mitchell

Logi Nu
LeoLogitech
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-07-2010

Re: Alert Commander can't see a camera, but remove viewer can

I'm having the same issue where my Ipad & android can access the camera no fail, but the Commander desktop app takes mulitple power-cycles of the camera plus searching for it with Commander to final see it.  And then if I close Commander I have to go through the whole process again.  And the entier time my iPod sees the camera straight away.

 

I'm also running Windows 7 64bit.

 

All Commander and Camera software is up to date.

Logi Nu
Bielefelder
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-10-2010

Re: Alert Commander can't see a camera, but remove viewer can

I am having the same problem in my 1-camera system. The remote module and my iphone can see the camera and recorded actions but the Alert Commander on my local PC cannot after the system went to sleep. The explanations and solutions I have read (i.e. reformatting the SD card) are not satisfactory. How can the reformatting an SD card bring the camera back on the local Alert Commander? It makes no sense. If the camera can be seen remotely, the problem lies elsewhere. Logitech needs to investigate this issue and find the cause, not a "try this or try this". We are looking for a Logical Solution (no pun intended).

Logi Nu
Andytami
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-24-2011

Re: Alert Commander can't see a camera, but remove viewer can

I have the same problem and have reformatted the sd card and power cycled the camera. Any solution to this?

Logi Apprentice
Ski & Glee
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎03-24-2011

Re: Alert Commander can't see a camera, but remove viewer can

I see a lot of people saying to cycle the power to the camera.  If that does not work, you should also power cycle the network bridge adaptor that goes to your router.  I have had success in the past when power cycling the camera did not fix the issue.

Logi Nu
SoJoe
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-14-2013

Re: Alert Commander can't see a camera, but remote viewer can

I have had this symptom before, and usually cured it by one of the recommended means. This time, however, it isn't working.

 

Logitech Alert Commander claims that the camera has not been seen since 8/12/2013 at 9:47pm. However, the local data storage on that computer has recorded video from the "missing" camera that post-dates the time it was allegedly last seen. In fact, there are dozens of recordings from the "missing" camera that are after the time it was allegedly last seen.

 

Logitech, what the heck is up? I have already tried the following:

 

1) Pinged the IP address of the camera. It responds to the ping request.

2) Power off and on the circuit the camera is plugged into (its power module is not an easy reach from the ground, but it is plugged into the same outlet pair as a second camera that is not reported as missing). The other camera reports being offline, then reports being online after several minutes.

3) Power-cycled the circuit and observed the LEDs (steady on pink for 1min, with night vision red LEDs on, then audible relay noise inside camera, then one-second on/one-second off bright blue flashes for 5 cycles, then night vision LEDs off, then bright blue on steady for a few seconds, then LED off for several seconds, a flash of green, then back throught he above sequence again). Logitech Alert Commander still did not see the camera.

4) Executed the "Find Cameras" operation several times. 5 of 6 cameras "went away", and the same 5 of 6 "came back", leaving the "missing" camera still reported as missing.

5) Unplugged the Logitech network adapter module from the wall, waited 30 seconds, plugged it back in. 5 of 6 cameras went away, the same 5 of 6 cameras were found again.

6) Unplugged the power/internet cable from the camera and swapped out the SDHC card, plugged back in, reformatted the SDHC card USING THE WEBSITE, power-cycled the circuit again, the second camera on the circuit went away and came back, and STILL Logitech Alert Commander did not find the "missing" camera.

7) Unplugged ALL networking equipment starting with my firewall, switches, and Logitech network adapter module (from the wall), waited one minute, powered up each component individually and waited 30 seconds before powering up the next link in the chain.

8) Discovered video that the "missing" camera had recorded and that Logitech Alert Commander had downloaded from the "missing" camera onto the local computer, that was recorded as much as 25 hours AFTER the "missing" camera was allegedly "last seen" by Logitech Alert Commander.

 

What can I try next?