Reply
Logi Browser
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-03-2007

how to print screen

Hi--

This seems like a stupid question, but I can't figure it out.

How do I use the print screen button with the wireless keyboards? I'm using the Wave and the 3200 kb's and have tried every key combination, but to no avail.

Help!

Thanks!
____________________________________________
Ban shark finning!
Logi Browser
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-29-2007

Re: how to print screen

Just press Prt Scr?
Logi Browser
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-03-2007

Re: how to print screen

And the button by itself does nothing as well.

What am I missing here?
____________________________________________
Ban shark finning!
Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
Posts: 4,736
Registered: ‎05-23-2006

Re: how to print screen

 
There are few combination you can try. Try pressing on Control+Alt+Prt Scr and see whether it works
Logi Browser
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-03-2007

Re: how to print screen

[ Edited ]
These combinations I've tried and don't work:

print screen
alt+print screen
shift+print screen
ctrl+print screen
shift+ctrl+print screen
shift+ctrl+alt+print screen
shift+alt+print screen (toggles high contrast)
function+print screen
shift+function+print screen
ctrl+function+print screen
alt+function+print screen
shift+ctrl+function+print screen
ctrl+alt+function+print screen
shift+alt+function+print screen

I've tried all these again as I typed this to verify, and none of them work. What I'm doing is pressing these combinations and switching to Photoshop and see the Edit/Paste is grayed out and the ctrl-v shortcut does nothing as well.

Seriously, how hard is it to print screen? Anyone else have a problem with this?

:hank

Message Edited by HankScorpio on 01-29-2008 05:16 PM
____________________________________________
Ban shark finning!
Logi Nu
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-24-2008

Re: how to print screen

I am also having problems with print screen button
 
hit all kind of combinations
using control ,alt ,shift ,print screen ?
 
 
Logi Nu
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-15-2007

PrtScr and Alt+PrtScr stopped working

I used this key combination just a few days ago, today it does nothing! Same STR as OP - I activate a window, type Alt+PrtScr, switch to Photoshop - Ctrl+N gives me a wrong-sized new image, Ctrl+V is disabled - there's nothing, or at least no image, on the clipboard.
I'm using a Logitech Cordless Keyboard M/N Y-RJ20. And I'm on Vista Pro, and - this key has worked in the past!

I think I remember it "went out" on me once before, but I don't remember what I did to fix it. Tried pulling the batteries out for 20 seconds, no change. It isn't the F-lock key, I tried both 'positions'. F12 works, I tried it in DreamWeaver.

So what makes the Print Screen key go dead - is there something you can do to the keyboard that would disable or redefine that key? My locale is EN (English, United States).
Logi Nu
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-15-2007

Re: PrtScr and Alt+PrtScr stopped working

Responding to my own post...I solved the problem, and learned 3 things:

1. My problem wasn't the Alt+PrtScr key on my keyboard, it was Photoshop! I had left Photoshop (6.0) running for several days - at some point, it lost the ability to detect an image on the clipboard. I tried a different image editor, and found that Alt+PrtScr worked with it. So I went back to Photoshop, shut it down and restarted it, and now Alt+PrtScr works going into Photoshop.

It can seem like the keyboard key isn't working - after all, there's no feedback - but the problem can be in Photoshop.

2. Some people on the web say that to use Alt+PrtScr under Vista, you have to have a certain security setting disabled:
a) Run gpedit.msc,
b) drill down to Local Computer Policy\Computer Configuration\Windows Settings\Security Settings\Local Policies\Security Options...
c) Find the entry "User Account Control: Switch to the secure desktop when prompting for elevation."
d) Set it to Disabled.
However, this setting made no difference to my ability to use Alt+PrtScr. Maybe that's because I run with UAC turned off.

3. Vista has a new tool called the Snipping Tool, which is a built-in screen capture program.
You can pop up the Start menu and at the bottom in the Search box, type snip. It should find you the Snipping Tool!.
Logi Nu
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-12-2008

Re: how to print screen

how do I print a screen
Support Specialist
Posts: 6,545
Registered: ‎06-21-2007

Re: how to print screen

Hi:smileyhappy:,
 
Pressing the PrtSCr key will copy an image of the screen into the clipboard. Once this is done, open a suitible application (PhotoShop or even Paint work for this) and paste the image.