Reply
Logi Browser
HankScorpio
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-03-2007

how to print screen

Hi--

This seems like a stupid question, but I can't figure it out.

How do I use the print screen button with the wireless keyboards? I'm using the Wave and the 3200 kb's and have tried every key combination, but to no avail.

Help!

Thanks!
____________________________________________
Ban shark finning!
Logi Browser
lolwut
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-29-2007

Re: how to print screen

Just press Prt Scr?
Logi Browser
HankScorpio
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-03-2007

Re: how to print screen

And the button by itself does nothing as well.

What am I missing here?
____________________________________________
Ban shark finning!
Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
Mal
Posts: 4,736
Registered: ‎05-23-2006

Re: how to print screen

 
There are few combination you can try. Try pressing on Control+Alt+Prt Scr and see whether it works
Logi Browser
HankScorpio
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-03-2007

Re: how to print screen

[ Edited ]
These combinations I've tried and don't work:

print screen
alt+print screen
shift+print screen
ctrl+print screen
shift+ctrl+print screen
shift+ctrl+alt+print screen
shift+alt+print screen (toggles high contrast)
function+print screen
shift+function+print screen
ctrl+function+print screen
alt+function+print screen
shift+ctrl+function+print screen
ctrl+alt+function+print screen
shift+alt+function+print screen

I've tried all these again as I typed this to verify, and none of them work. What I'm doing is pressing these combinations and switching to Photoshop and see the Edit/Paste is grayed out and the ctrl-v shortcut does nothing as well.

Seriously, how hard is it to print screen? Anyone else have a problem with this?

:hank

Message Edited by HankScorpio on 01-29-2008 05:16 PM
____________________________________________
Ban shark finning!
Logi Nu
Chris99a
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-24-2008

Re: how to print screen

I am also having problems with print screen button
 
hit all kind of combinations
using control ,alt ,shift ,print screen ?
 
 
Logi Nu
spike0xff
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-15-2007

PrtScr and Alt+PrtScr stopped working

I used this key combination just a few days ago, today it does nothing! Same STR as OP - I activate a window, type Alt+PrtScr, switch to Photoshop - Ctrl+N gives me a wrong-sized new image, Ctrl+V is disabled - there's nothing, or at least no image, on the clipboard.
I'm using a Logitech Cordless Keyboard M/N Y-RJ20. And I'm on Vista Pro, and - this key has worked in the past!

I think I remember it "went out" on me once before, but I don't remember what I did to fix it. Tried pulling the batteries out for 20 seconds, no change. It isn't the F-lock key, I tried both 'positions'. F12 works, I tried it in DreamWeaver.

So what makes the Print Screen key go dead - is there something you can do to the keyboard that would disable or redefine that key? My locale is EN (English, United States).
Logi Nu
spike0xff
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-15-2007

Re: PrtScr and Alt+PrtScr stopped working

Responding to my own post...I solved the problem, and learned 3 things:

1. My problem wasn't the Alt+PrtScr key on my keyboard, it was Photoshop! I had left Photoshop (6.0) running for several days - at some point, it lost the ability to detect an image on the clipboard. I tried a different image editor, and found that Alt+PrtScr worked with it. So I went back to Photoshop, shut it down and restarted it, and now Alt+PrtScr works going into Photoshop.

It can seem like the keyboard key isn't working - after all, there's no feedback - but the problem can be in Photoshop.

2. Some people on the web say that to use Alt+PrtScr under Vista, you have to have a certain security setting disabled:
a) Run gpedit.msc,
b) drill down to Local Computer Policy\Computer Configuration\Windows Settings\Security Settings\Local Policies\Security Options...
c) Find the entry "User Account Control: Switch to the secure desktop when prompting for elevation."
d) Set it to Disabled.
However, this setting made no difference to my ability to use Alt+PrtScr. Maybe that's because I run with UAC turned off.

3. Vista has a new tool called the Snipping Tool, which is a built-in screen capture program.
You can pop up the Start menu and at the bottom in the Search box, type snip. It should find you the Snipping Tool!.
Logi Nu
buckp
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-12-2008

Re: how to print screen

how do I print a screen
Support Specialist
CJChew
Posts: 6,545
Registered: ‎06-21-2007

Re: how to print screen

Hi:smileyhappy:,
 
Pressing the PrtSCr key will copy an image of the screen into the clipboard. Once this is done, open a suitible application (PhotoShop or even Paint work for this) and paste the image.