Reply
Logi Nu
Cheolsoo
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

How can I use function keys (F1~F12) without FN key?

[ Edited ]

H/W: Macbook Air 11" (2011)

OS: Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Keyboard Model: K810

 

Please let me know how i can use standard function key (Fn keys : F1~F11) without FN key.

I tried to below tasks. but I can't use standard function keys without Fn key (side by Ctrl key)

 

System Configure > Keyboard > Check "Use standard key (F1, F2...)"

 

Best regards.

 

 

Support Specialist ★★★★
Vanessa1031
Posts: 5,512
Registered: ‎07-11-2012

Re: How can I use function keys (F1~F12) without FN key?

[ Edited ]

Hello Cheolsoo,

 

I'm happy to assist you with your Bluetooth Illuminated Keyboard K810 and the issue with the standard function keys. This keyboard is not supported on Mac OS computers and for that reason LCC is not allowing for you to adjust the FN keys, please check out the following FAQ:

 

Supported operating systems for the K810 Bluetooth keyboard

 

Best Regards,

Vanessa
Support Specialist


Support + Download | Contact Support | Manuals | Check Rebate Status
If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
All opinions written here are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of my employer.
Logi Nu
karatekid430
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-14-2013

Re: How can I use function keys (F1~F12) without FN key?

[ Edited ]

Hello,

 

This is my main doubt about buying the Logitech K810 keyboard. Sure, I can remap the keys with SharpKeys but I am thinking that the first three function keys (the ones which switch the pairing between bluetooth devices) might not actually send signals to the devices but just within the keyboard. I will be using Windows 8 Pro 64-bit and am currently using Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. Is there an actual solution to this without using third-party mods on Windows? I have absolutely no intention of pairing with Apple products.

 

If I do use this keyboard with any other device I will not care, however. It is only with Windows that the function keys are preferred over their other functions.

 

The last thing is for gaming, will I run into any issues regarding simultaneous keystrokes, response time or anything? And will this work in the BIOS if I use a Logitech Unifying Receiver?

 

Thank you!

 

I will definitely buy one of these if there is a way to make the fn key on by default. This is the first perfect keyboard I have ever seen apart from this little issue. It does not need batteries, I love the charging cable like with my Razer Mamba 2012 mouse. It has no numberpad while being wireless, and the backlight is nice. It is also elegant and nice looking. I have also just purchased the Logitech T650 touchpad which seems excellent with a similar charging system. I just hope I can modify its sensitivity independently from my Razer Mamba 2012 mouse because it has such a high DPI that it might cause problems.

 

Regards,

 

Nicholas {Personal content removed for your safety}

Support Specialist ★★★★
Vanessa1031
Posts: 5,512
Registered: ‎07-11-2012

Re: How can I use function keys (F1~F12) without FN key?

[ Edited ]

Hello karatekid430,

 

I understand that you would like to purchase the Logitech Bluetooth Illuminated keyboard K810.  On Windows, this keyboard uses our SetPoint software for the keys to be customize and the keys not available are replaced by functions.

 

This keyboard doesn't use a receiver, it's connected via Bluetooth only.  Regarding gaming, it can work fine using simultaneous keystrokes however is not a gaming keyboard.

 

The FN key needs to be press every time you use one of the F-keys, so I'm afraid you can't keep it enabled all the time.

 

We appreciate the positive feedback and please let me know if this information is useful.

 

Best Regards,

 

Vanessa
Support Specialist


Support + Download | Contact Support | Manuals | Check Rebate Status
If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
All opinions written here are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of my employer.
Logi Nu
karatekid430
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-14-2013

Re: How can I use function keys (F1~F12) without FN key?

Thank you for the help.

 

So in other words, the setpoint software cannot invert the fn key to make the function keys work by default? And would the F1, F2 and F3 alternate functions be mapped to the computer? I.e. would the computer know if you pressed them without holding the fn key? If it knows then I can remap them with SharpKeys.

 

Ah well, it is by far the best thing out there so I will probably buy it anyway.

 

Thanks again!

 

Regards,

 

karatekid430

Support Specialist ★★★★
Vanessa1031
Posts: 5,512
Registered: ‎07-11-2012

Re: How can I use function keys (F1~F12) without FN key?

[ Edited ]

Hello karatekid430,

 

SetPoint lets you customize keyboard F-keys and hot-keys. It can also notify you of your device's battery status, and whether Caps Lock and Num Lock are on.

 

The F-keys will work with default functions automatically, until you customized them to perform different tasks under SetPoint, then you would need to press the FN key + F-Key of your choice to perform the customized option. The alternate functions for F1-F3 will be detected by the computer but if you press them without pressing the FN key then you will be switching between devices.

 

Excellent choice buying this keyboard!

Vanessa
Support Specialist


Support + Download | Contact Support | Manuals | Check Rebate Status
If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
All opinions written here are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of my employer.
Logi Nu
fabianhorlacher
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-11-2013

Re: How can I use function keys (F1~F12) without FN key?

You can just swap the F-Key functionality with SetPoint! :smileyhappy:

Check this manual.

Support Specialist ★★★★
Vanessa1031
Posts: 5,512
Registered: ‎07-11-2012

Re: How can I use function keys (F1~F12) without FN key?

Hello fabianhorlacher,

 

Thank you for sharing this information with us!

 

Regards,

Vanessa
Support Specialist


Support + Download | Contact Support | Manuals | Check Rebate Status
If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
All opinions written here are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of my employer.