Reply
Logi Nu
Toip
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-11-2012

K350 keyboard spacebar problem

I have a brand new K350 combo. Problem  is that I have to press  the space bar  twice or more to get  it to work. I seen a few posts but none seem to address this issue. Do I just need to send this one back or is  there easy fix?

Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
Pau2108
Posts: 3,808
Registered: ‎08-02-2012

Re: K350 keyboard spacebar problem

Hi Toip,

 

It seems that your are having a hardware issue please contact phone support to verify the warranty information.

 

If you are in U.S. or Canada you can call 646-454-3200, if not please choose your country from the list on the link below and contact phone support.

 

http://www.logitech.com/en-us/change-location?returnurl

Paulina
Support Specialist

If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.

Logitech

Support Home Page | Downloads | Contact Support | Manuals | Warranty | Check Rebate Status
All opinions written here are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of my employer.

Logi Nu
PlantSalad
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Re: K350 keyboard spacebar problem

I just purchased the K350, and have been having 2 issues. Either when I hit the space bar, it doesn't put a space in or when I do, it will sometimes put in two spaces. Given that I spend a significant amount of time inputing information for work, this becomes incredibly annoying. (7 corrections this reply)

 

Is this definitely a hardware issue? Should I return  the keyboard for a new one where I purchased it?

Logi Nu
CASherman
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-09-2012

Re: K350 keyboard spacebar problem

I just bought the MK550 desktop combo but my keyboard has a K350 listed as the model.  This doesn't make any sense to me.  Since so many others have problems with this keyboard, I wanted to list mine.

 

During gaming, the key "w" will not continuously work when pressed.  I push the "w" key to move forward and my toon moves forward for a bit but then stops and the key must be released and pressed again.

 

I must confess that I'm wondering about whether or not this "problem" is actually a design change similar to Logitech's purposely sabotaging their keyboards to prevent them from allowing simultaneous key sequences specific to certain gamers.  Thus, forcing a gamer wanting to use that ability,to purchase an expensive gaming keyboard.

 

I will most likely be returning the Logitech keyboard and returning to Microsoft's products.

Logi Nu
dpgrant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-17-2012

Re: K350 keyboard spacebar problem

I am having the  same problem on two K350 keyboards. The keyboard does not give accurate spaces. Onetime it will space, another time it will not space, another time it gives two spaces. I have installed the latest software, tried  it on various word-processing programs and still the sameproblem. This messageis a greatexample of whatit is doing. Love thekeyboard but am very  frustrated. For some one who does a lot ofword processing  this isunaccceptable. Is there a solution?

 

Logi Nu
MLeid
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-18-2012

Re: K350 keyboard spacebar problem

[ Edited ]

I just got off the phone with tech support for this same issue. They advised me to take the batteries out, hold down the spacebar for 20 seconds, then replace batteries. It's intermittent so I couldn't confirm while they were on the phone if it worked. Not sure how that could possibly do anything, but it appears to have worked. This is the first thing I've typed & I haven't had it skip a space in this entire paragraph, Usually it would have happened a few times by now.

 

Good luck!!

MichaelKenward
Posts: 4,871
Topics: 16
Solutions: 228
Registered: ‎01-21-2007

Re: K350 keyboard spacebar problem


MLeid wrote:

Not sure how that could possibly do anything, but it appears to have worked.

 


 

Think of it is as flushing any rubbish out of the keyboard's memory and resetting it back to normal.

 

You may think of the keyboard as a purely mechanical device. In reality, it also has its own electronics.

 

__________
MK
Just another customer with time on their hands.

M570, Cordless Trackball | Cordless Trackman Wheel | T650 Touchpad
K800, K360, K340 keyboards
QuickCam Pro 9000 | H600 headset
SetPoint: 6.61.15 | Driver version: 5.60.73 | LWS 2.31
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit & 32-bit | Windows 8.1 Update

If you find a solution to your problem, mark it as "solved". This assists people who are looking for help with their problems.

Logi Nu
mullenview
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-30-2012

Re: K350 keyboard spacebar problem

Hello Logitech Support Managers, Product Management,  and QA Engineers!

 

This K350 Keyboard does not work! I have tried all the steps listed in this thread; I have searched the Forum and the KB; I have spoken with technical support.

 

I wish I hadreadthe "1" posts on Amazon, apparently i'm not alone with this issue. (This sentence written w/o the helpof manualcorrections to the lousy space bar issue.)

 

http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-K350-2-4Ghz-Wireless-Keyboard/product-reviews/B002MMY4WY/ref=cm_cr_dp...

MichaelKenward
Posts: 4,871
Topics: 16
Solutions: 228
Registered: ‎01-21-2007

Re: K350 keyboard spacebar problem

What's the problem? Same as the original?

Does not work could be one of the many problems that people have with their keyboards.

Can you be a bit more specific?

If the worst comes to the worst, raise an official support request and get Logitech to replace the beast. If its is new it is still under warranty/guarantee.

__________
MK
Just another customer with time on their hands.

M570, Cordless Trackball | Cordless Trackman Wheel | T650 Touchpad
K800, K360, K340 keyboards
QuickCam Pro 9000 | H600 headset
SetPoint: 6.61.15 | Driver version: 5.60.73 | LWS 2.31
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit & 32-bit | Windows 8.1 Update

If you find a solution to your problem, mark it as "solved". This assists people who are looking for help with their problems.

Logi Nu
JDSupport
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-22-2012

Re: K350 keyboard spacebar problem

I recently purchased the K350 keyboard as part of a wireless combo kit, and I was experiencing the same spacebar issue described here.  Since the kit was a refurbished unit, there was no option for Logitech support.  I decided to attempt a workaround for the issue.

 

I removed the spacebar key itself by gently prying the key from the bottom and popping it off.  I was able to test the sensitivity of the "striking area" by pressing down on the white, rubber piece at the bottom where contact is made on the board.  I discovered that the contact had to be dead center in order to create a good signal.

 

Looking at the underside of the spacebar key, I decided to attempt a workaround to produce a more solid striking area for the spacebar key so I cut some pieces of paper at a depth that would fill in the hole at the bottom of the spacebar key that makes contact with the rubber "contact sheet" (for lack of a better term).  In fact, I rolled 2 pieces of paper with one leaving some space in the center so I could insert another piece that is slightly longer than the first.  I was trying to make sure that I had something that would stay in place and provide for a "dead center" strike on the rubber at the bottom.  The key is to make the bottom of the key strike the rubber piece in the center so it makes good contact with the board beneath the rubber.

 

So far, the spacebar is working great, but I do not have any type of "clicking" sound which is something I can live with as long as the space is applied when I press the key.