Reply
Logi Browser
adster
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-15-2009

Logitech K811 on a PC?

So I use the K811 as the main keyboard for my Mac and also for my iPad. I was also wondering if I can use SetPoint to make it a full Windows keyboard as well.

 

I know it will work as a "basic" Bluetooth keyboard, but can I adjust any settings on it using Windows through SetPoint? Will SetPoint even recognize it? I know the K811 and the K810 are almost identical as far as layouts are concerned, just the function keys are different.

 

Thank you!

Support Specialist ★★★★
jc1990
Posts: 4,496
Registered: ‎08-02-2012

Re: Logitech K811 on a PC?

Hi adster,

 

Our Logitech K811 Bluetooth Easy-Switch Keyboard is only made for the following Operating Systems:

 

  • Mac OS X 10.6.8 or later
  • iOS 4.0 or later

However, our Logitech Setpoint Software for Windows may or may not recognize the K811 Keyboard since its specifically made for Mac OS Computers.

 

I highly recommend you to use our Logitech 810 Keyboard if you are using Windows OS.

 

I hope this information was helpful. 

Kind regards,

Camacho
Support Specialist

If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.

Logitech

Support Home Page | Downloads | Contact Support | Manuals | Warranty | Check Rebate Status
All opinions written here are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of my employer.


Logi Browser
adster
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-15-2009

Re: Logitech K811 on a PC?

True, but I don't want to buy another keyboard to replace a keyboard who's whole job it is consolidate to a single kayboard.

 

Make sense?

 

I use my Mac as my main computer but use a windows PC from time to time and it would be SO much easier to just touch a button to swap to a PC. As a matter of fact, I got the K811 working on Windows 8. SetPoint doesn't recognize it, but most of the features work exactly the same. The Command key is the Windows key and the volume up/down/mute buttons work natively as well. I haven't tried any of the other keys.

 

It might behoove Logitech to add the K811 to SetPoint so I can customize the keys - just a thought. Thank you!

Logi Nu
Dericksugi
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Re: Logitech K811 on a PC?

[ Edited ]
Cool I just posted this question in a separate thread but looks like you answered my question. So the windows/command function key automatically changes depending on if you connect to a windows or apple device? What about the apple home key, what does that do with windows?

Have you ever used the K810 keyboard? Do you know if there is any real difference between the two keyboards?

Best buy has the K810 on sale for $79.99 right now. If it's the same as the K811 then I would buy the cheaper one of course.
Logi Nu
Nguyeca
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-20-2013

Re: Logitech K811 on a PC?

Anyone tried this with Windows 7?  My primary computer is an iMac but I need to use Windows 7 occasionally. 

Logi Nu
ryzion
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-27-2013

Re: Logitech K811 on a PC?

The keyboard works perfectly well with Windows 7. Command is mapped as Windows button, control as Ctrl.

Logi Nu
trbldrew
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-07-2013

Re: Logitech K811 on a PC?

if the fn key does the same things as on mac os i'm buing this thing tomorrow! 

does it? (like end of line, delete with backspace etc)

thanks!!

Logi Nu
Trigeminy6
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-07-2013

Re: Logitech K811 on a PC?

hurrah! adster is umm logical. so for myself (and I am pretty sure there are a bunch o 'me' out there) it makes sense to become the k8zz easy fluid keyboard so as to fluidly float between pc mac ipad and droid, without costing an arm and a leg.
just a collection of thoughts to follow adster's line as not abstract.
thanks and have a gmornin gdday and gnight.
trigeminy6
Logi Nu
aab23c
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-12-2013

Re: Logitech K811 on a PC?

Hello, not sure anyone is still going to be looking at this thread. I know that the K811 is not designed for windows, but it is a bluetooth device so it should work with windows 8 right? I have connected it to both my ipad and iphone, and would like to connect it to my windows 8 pc.

 

when I attempt to connect it to my windows 8 pc, the computer recognizes the device, and then asks me to enter a passcode. When I attempt to enter the passcode it does not work. I get an error "That didn't work. Enter this passcode" and a new passcode is diplayed to try again.

 

Any thoughts, other than the k811 is for mac, and the k810 is for windows? I am currently using the apple bluetooth keyboard on my windows box, so unless logitech did some sort of software fail to block the k811, i dont know what is going on.

Logi Nu
panakk87
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-01-2013

Re: Logitech K811 on a PC?

In any case someone is wondering if the k811 keyboard works on a pc I'll say yes it does and it is very comfort and responding
every key seems to work just fine,both when you re typing a sentence and functions like pause-play,screen brightness,volume up or down the sound
do you want to know how i made it ?
i use a windows 8 pc(tower) wchich is no bluetooth built in.
i purchased a 3rd party bluetooth receiver-tongle ( crypto bt 100) around 10 euros
i connected it in a free USB port manage the settings and as a result i add the bluetooth ability on my windows 8 pc,then i connected the keyboard (push the button below it) to the bluetooth tongle and thats it!
great keyboard ,enjoy !!