Logi Nu
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-21-2012

New K400 touchpad not working

[ Edited ]

I just hooked up a brand new K400 and the keyboard and all other buttons, including those under the touchpad, work fine. 

The touchpad, however, is completely non-responsive. It's connected to a Windows 7 comp.


Any suggestions? Am I missing something obvious or is it just bad?

Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
Posts: 5,998
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: New K400 touchpad not working

Hello just_kyles


Try configuring the touchpad first using the Setpoint software (refer here).



Support Specialist

Support Home Page | Downloads | Contact Support | Manuals | Warranty | Check Rebate Status
If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
All opinions written here are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of my employer.



Logi Nu
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-09-2013

Re: New K400 touchpad not working


I'm replying here as this is one of the first threads in google and i had this issue too, it could be a simple fix if same as mine.

My trackpad / touchpad / glidepad stopped responding, all keys were working fine however, including the mouse buttons.

The touchpad is on a separate circuit that connects to the keyboard interface by a ribbon cable, the ribbon cable on mine had become uncoupled from the touchpad. This is a very simple fix.

1. Turn over keyboard and remove batteries.

2. Remove the 10 screws from keyboard casing. 5 are visible, the other 5 screws are; 1 behind both rubber 'feet' pads along the top, 1 x in the battery compartment and 2 x behind the centre sticker (the one beneath the logitech logo with K400 written on it)

3. Gently pry the two pieces of the keyboard apart, GENTLY!

4. Check to see if the ribbon cable from the lower half is attached to the circuit board of the touchpad.

5. If it is detached. lift the small lever on the touchpad's board, slide the ribbon cable in below this lever (so that the contacts on the ribbon go against the side with the board) then flip the locking lever down.

6. reassemble keyboard / add batteries and test.

This was the issue for me, these cables can quite often come lose and this was a very simple fix Smiley Happy


While your keyboard is apart, you might want to clean any keys that are sticky or spongy. Push them through from the back and clean the affected key and keyboard hole with a small cotton bud and cleaning solution, make sure all components are dry before assembling. (My volume and home keys were sticking down, and this has made them nice and springy again)

Hope this helps someone with the same issue. It really is very simple and shouldn't void your warranty etc, all stickers can be peeled back easily without damage and no soldering require etc Smiley Happy

Posts: 332
Registered: ‎03-29-2012

Re: New K400 touchpad not working


Just a reminder that disassembling the product may violate the product warranty.



Logi Nu
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-27-2006

Re: New K400 touchpad not working

mine had the same problem, took it apart and the ribbon cable were securely attached on both ends.  I removed it anyway and reinstalled it but now luck - will just have to try returning it and swapping with a new one.  Thanks for the suggestion though!

Logi Nu
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-05-2014

Re: New K400 touchpad not working

That Sir is genius!!  


I thought the connections looked fine at first the I tried pushing them both and low and behold the 2nd one pushed back in slightly.  


Closed it up and worked great!!!


Think the key is to double-check the connections by giving them a gentle push.



Logi Nu
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-04-2015

Re: New K400 touchpad not working

What a convienently designed device.


Works great on my Samsung smart TV and controls every function. It is merely a matter of plug and play. Works out of the box.


The K400R also controls my Dell desktop just as well as the Samsung smart TV by just moving the USB dongle over to the Dell.


I can set in the Lazy Boy recliner and control the Dell desk top and watch the Samsung screen as the Dell monitor to watch PBS videos as well as You Tube.


That is as long as the connectors make contact. There must be thousands of K400's and K400R's that have been returned?


Ebay is choked up with Logitech K400's and 400R's as refurb sales. Apparently sellers take them apart and jiggle the ribbon cable connectors? I just took mine apart and reseated the cable - it works fine now for how long?


What a wonderful device to let something like the ribbon cable connectors make the device useless as well as distroy Logitech's name? Right now I think someone dropped the ball at Logitech and this is not some trivial short coming . . . It's been going on for a few years judging by how many are on the secondary markets, like Ebay, as refurbs and used?


Shame on whoever is in denial of a problem at Logitech!


Right now



Logi Nu
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-26-2015

Re: New K400 touchpad not working

I find it somewhat amusing that a member of support recommends configuring the touchpad separately with Setpoint first. Have you tried this yourself sir? You can't. Setpoint states that it doesn't support all of Logitech's Devices and directs you to Logitech Options. Which has no options available for tweaking the performance of the touchpad. Which is as sticky as hell.


I'm regretting giving Logitech yet more of my money. This keyboard is a shining example of how shoddy your products continue to be.