Logi Nu
pgwerner

Mouse dragging problems with cordless MX Duo on Mac Pro

I have a cordless MX Duo (Logitech Cordless Keyboard + MX 700 mouse) that I have been using for several years, but lately the dragging problems with the mouse are becoming intolerable. I am using MX Duo with a new Dual Core Mac Pro tower and Mac OS X 10.5.4, and, yes, I updated and reinstalled the Logitech Control Center software when I switched to the new system.

Note that I do not have this problem with the OEM keyboard and mouse (which I'm using right now, actually).

When I drag the mouse, the dragging action is inconsistent – the signal seems to "break" before I release the mouse button, sometimes quite quickly. This results in the end of the dragging, or even more annoyingly, a click or double-click action that results in files or applications being launched when I don't want them to. A workaround I've been able to use in the finder is simply to use the middle button to select and drag with, however, this solution does not work in most applications.

(The keyboard works great and I'm quite happy with it.)

I will note that I also had problems with the original mouse about two years ago, and bought another MX 700 mouse as a replacement (I simply used it with the old charger/controller). This seemed to have worked fine for a while, but now I'm seeing the same problems again on my new setup.

I'm not sure if its a hardware problem or a software one, because the problem is worse in some applications than others.

Is there a fix for this, or is this simply a problem inherent to the MX 700? Do I just need to get a newer cordless keyboard mouse combo?
Logitech Employee

Re: Mouse dragging problems with cordless MX Duo on Mac Pro

Hello pgwerner,

Thank you for you posting.