Logi Nu
Jojje

F510 (also F310, F710) joystick design flaws

I'm a hobby game developer and occasional gamer who bought a Logitech F510 a few weeks ago.

I can tell you that this device has some serious issues that for me (and others who have lamented over it) are unacceptable. It's useless for anything that requires the kind of continuous precision required to steer a car or aim at something.

This device is really not for games in general but for some special niche I have yet to learn about. I wish this was somehow stated upfront.

Its most obvious deficiency is the huge hardware deadzones in the center of each joystick's axis. They simply don't report anything "near" the center. Logitech has stated on this forum that this is a feature, not a bug! But it is to me a design flaw because any gap should be a configurable software thing.

The only configurable thing about the deadzone is at which point the values start ramping up. Ofcourse, it doesn't help to turn this down because of the hardware gaps, but if you do, values can become stuck at something else than 0 at the supposed center. You can reproduce it like this:
0) Use JoyTest.exe, jstest-gtk or something that visualize your gamepad axes, preferably with raw values. (The ones in Logitech Gaming Software is probably too tiny.)
1) With any joystick axis, push it one way more than a little.
2) Release it and it goes back to the center. Fine.
3) Now push it in the opposite direction, but just a _tiny_ bit (less than 1600 out of 32768 units in one direction). You have to be careful not to exceed it.
4) Release it and now it is stuck on a low value! It doesn't come down to zero.