Reply
Logi Nu
firyplr
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-22-2007

Scrolling Size Erratic

I have a Logitech MX1000 mouse. I like to set the scrolling size to 1 line. However, it is continually changing back on its own to either 7 or 8 lines scrolling size. Otherwise the mouse works well. Any suggestions?
Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
Mal
Posts: 4,736
Registered: ‎05-23-2006

Re: Scrolling Size Erratic

Hi firyplr :smileyhappy:
 
Are you changing the scrolling size in the SetPoint software or Windows OS?
Logi Apprentice
Another_User
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎01-30-2007

Re: Scrolling Size Erratic

I'm having the same problem. G5 laser with the latest setpoint (happened with the previous version too).

It happens when I use the Cruise Up or Cruise Down buttons if acceleration is enabled. It will change from 3 lines to 7 with medium acceleration or 13 with high acceleration. I can't find any way of preventing this. Cruise used to work but now every time I use it the scrolling size changes. Please help.
Logi Browser
Trecher
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-15-2008

Re: Scrolling Size Erratic

I've been having the same problem with my LX-7. I reported it to Tech support earlier this year and they said to Download the latest version of SetPoint. I did, but it's still doing it. I want to set it to 1 or 3 lines, but every time I reboot my PC, it defaults back to 5 Lines. This is obviously a bug in their software. They need to get it fixed so we user's can use the settings the way we want.
I've always loved Logitech stuff and have never had a problem except this. Since so many others are seeing it, they need to address it in the software.
Support Specialist
CJChew
Posts: 6,545
Registered: ‎06-21-2007

Re: Scrolling Size Erratic

Hi:smileyhappy:,
 
Please try performing a clean install of SetPoint.
Logi Browser
Trecher
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-15-2008

Re: Scrolling Size Erratic

Already done, several times even. That was one of the first things that support suggested doing.
It didn't do any good. From what I've read, many other people have also done this at the request of support and it doesn't help. This issue needs to be updated in the Support database indicating that it goes beyond the "Clean Install" solution option. That way people won't waste their time doing something that is useless.
I've tried turning off the Pointer Acceleration at the suggestion of many of these posts, and that doesn't seem to help my system either.
This is obviously a wide spread bug that is irritating for many people and needs to be addressed. I pray that Logitech sees that and will address it soon.
Thank you.
Logi Visitor
igob8a
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎06-08-2008

Re: Scrolling Size Erratic

I've had this issue for years now. It's slightly different for me though; when I scroll down it scrolls 1 line, but when I scroll up it scrolls 2 lines.
Pretty annoying but I learned to live with it :\
Support Specialist
CJChew
Posts: 6,545
Registered: ‎06-21-2007

Re: Scrolling Size Erratic

Hi:smileyhappy:,
 
Does this still happen if SetPoint is uninstalled?
Logi Browser
Trecher
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-15-2008

Re: Scrolling Size Erratic

The standard Windows mouse properties do not have an option to set the scroll wheel for the mouse.
If memory serves, when SetPoint was uninstalled, the scroll wheel didn't work at all since there was no "function" to assign to it. I'm pretty sure it did nothing or if it did scroll, it defaulted to a preset "large" value that was unacceptable to me. There was definitely no way to alter whatever function it defaulted to without SetPoint. I prefer the 1-Line or 3-Line settings. Anything larger jumps too much. I do remember that it didn't work for my needs. Especially since I couldn't assign a "function" to the 3rd and 4th mouse buttons. Without SetPoint, they definitely don't do anything.
Presently, even with Mouse Acceleration turned off, every time I reboot, the Scrolling Size keeps jumping back to 5-Lines and will not hold at the setting I prefer.
This is definitely a bug in SetPoint that appears to be affecting many users and we would be very appreciative if it were fixed.
Thank you.
Logi Visitor
igob8a
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎06-08-2008

Re: Scrolling Size Erratic

Yep it happens with or without setpoint and it's the same on other computers as well. I think the scrolling sensor/detector might be dirty or otherwise not working properly.
So far it's not bad enough for me to want to get a replacement though :]