Reply
Logi Nu
onux16
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-20-2009

my missing tabs in SetPoint are discovered!

Hey guys and gals.

 

I have seen a lot of troubleshooting procedures out there to find the missing Mouse and Keyboard settings tabs, ranging from removing and reinstalling software to renaming files, and... what a nightmare!  Fortunately, I discovered an unusual technique that got my SetPoint 4.72 back on track.

 

I recently purchased FEAR for my Vista 64-bit system and was getting terrible framerates using two 9600GT's.  The solution that boosted those framerates was to disable unused Human Interface Devices (HID) devices.  The forum post I found it in gave an easy-to-follow tutorial, and my framerates are now a lot better (I didn't know 300+ fps was possible!).  However, I realized that disabling certain HID's actually disables the tabs in SetPoint, too.

 

This is worth a shot if you're having the same issues as myself.

1.  Go to the Device Manager.

2.  Click Human Interface Devices.
3.  For my system, any devices that are disabled have the default icon paired with a blue down-facing arrow.  If you right-click on the devices and the Enable option appears in the list, that device is disabled.

4.  Reenable all of them and see if your Mouse and Keyboard settings reappaear.  If they do, and you have certain HID's disabled for a reason, you can disable them one-by-one and see which ones effect the SetPoint tabs.

 

I know the no-tabs issue can be a real pain in the butt, but hopefully this will resolve the issue for some of you.

 

--onux16

 

 

Logi Browser
HawkLS
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-11-2007

Re: my missing tabs in SetPoint are discovered!

Oh boy! You almost made my day... :smileytongue: but nope. All my HID are enable.

 

I don't understand how Logitech can't fis this issue. It's a real PITA!!!!!

Logi Nu
onux16
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-20-2009

Re: my missing tabs in SetPoint are discovered!

I had an older, unused version of SetPoint installed on my computer when I bought the V365 nano, but I tried installng the new 4.72 when I bought the Wave keyboard from Circuit City.  Using the disc, I only got the Tools tab.  I remember uninstalling SetPoint, removing the usb adapter, reinstalling the program using a downloaded version off the internet (or maybe I used the old SetPoint to update itself?), then plugging the adapter back in.  Somehow it worked.  Have you tried experimenting like that?  It's my only other idea  =\
Support Specialist
CJChew
Posts: 6,545
Registered: ‎06-21-2007

Re: my missing tabs in SetPoint are discovered!

Hi:smileyhappy:,

 

There is actually a working solution for the missing tab problem; but it only applies to XP systems (Vista won't let you rename/delete the wdf file). For Vista users, onux16's solution will work.

Logi Nu
Drives
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-26-2011

Re: my missing tabs in SetPoint are discovered!

i did that many times and it dosnt work so...ya(yes i am using XP)

Logi Browser
HTeix
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-01-2011

Re: my missing tabs in SetPoint are discovered!

Forget it and install from http://www.highrez.co.uk/downloads/XMouseButtonControl.htm  . Very good software for mouse!