Logi Nu
criese

G27 - PS3

I am considering the new G27 to be used for my ps3.  I have never used a wheel for a console before and am wondering just how / how well it works.  Seems like it would be supported by most racing games for the sytem, of particular interest is Gran Turismo, Need for Speed: Shift, Burnout.  Do they also support the shifter and clutch?  And how about all of the configurable buttons?  Can they be used, or are they strictly for PC use?  Will I just be able to plug this into the ps3 and it will detect it no problems?  So, who has the G27 with the ps3?

Logi Nu
ddalley

Re: G27 - PS3

[ Edited ]

There seems to be a number of G27 / PlayStation (GT5 Prologue or other games) incompatibilities, but it will take someone from Logitech who knows to answer why. Apparently, Logitech is in talks with SONY to fix the incompatibility, but I am not sure how they can fix the problem with older, non-PS3 games.

For example, with Prologue, because the G27 does not have a sequential shifter, the paddles don't work and the shift light also doesn't work. There may be other problems I am unaware of, since I don't have a G27.

Logi Browser
ps3users

Just got my G27, plugged it in and turned on Need for Speed Shift.  WOW, it took it to a new level.  I was skepitcal at first, spending $300 on a steering wheel but I'm glad I did.  You can use the clutch and shift manually, use the paddle shifter, automatic or just turn on auto clutch and shift as you like.  Couldn't be more happy with the G27.  I only play NFS shift and will get the new GT5 when it comes out.  Hope this helps.

Logi Nu
rticwulfps3

Hey PS3users!!  I'm setting up the G27 right now but when I installed the discs into the PS3 they did absolutely nothing.  Are the discs supposed to start up automatically or are they not needed when u set urs up?? Thanks for your help!!

Logi Nu
leeoak