Reply
Logi Browser
shirley3kevin
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Accepted Solution

Picture is too large for my TV screen

The revue screen is much too large to be able to view the data on my TV screen.  The data runs off the screen.  The only way I can resolve this is to adjust my TV settings.  I do not wish to do this every time I want to use revue.

 

Settings does not provide an option to make screen smaller; only an option to make it larger.  I have tried resetting to factor settings but this did not change that.

 

Please indicate how to shrink revue's screen.  In the initial setup when it says to scroll up, down, right, left until you no longer see blue; this is what I need to undo.  I need to see blue on the edges and I believe this will make the data fit the screen.

 

Please indicate how to make this change.

 

Thank you very much

Shirley

Logi Guru
Eferzz
Posts: 2,241
Registered: ‎07-28-2011

Re: Picture is too large for my TV screen


shirley3kevin wrote:

Please indicate how to shrink revue's screen.  In the initial setup when it says to scroll up, down, right, left until you no longer see blue; this is what I need to undo.  I need to see blue on the edges and I believe this will make the data fit the screen.


To alter the overscan settings go to GTV Settings > Picture & sound > Picture size then you'll have the option to either make the changes with the current settings or to start over.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Logi Browser
shirley3kevin
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-27-2011

Re: Picture is too large for my TV screen

Thank you very much for your reply; it is greatly appreciated!!!!

 

I did the start over from default and the start over from current and neither showed the screen with blue around the edges.

 

The still maintained the huge size and I even restored to factory settings to see if that would take that part of the setup back to original stat, but it did not; the screen still is huge and writing stays off the edges.

 

When origianlly setting it up, my tv was set to a small size so when I maximized the screen in setup and then put tv screen to origianl size it made my reue screen too big.  Am I out of luck?

Logi Master II
RZ
Posts: 1,237
Registered: ‎10-22-2010

Re: Picture is too large for my TV screen

[ Edited ]

You are not out of luck. Reduce the screen size on your TV and see if you can stretch the SD channels in your STB video settings. After installing REvue, you should not use TV screen "zoom out/in" settings for SD channels, as Revue outputs proper wide screen format. 

 

Otherwise, your question is funny - if you zoom the video in TV, it will be that way, Revue has nothing to do with it. If you don't want to reduce the screen size, but want it to be small... Well, that's too bad, Revue has nothing to do with it.

Logi Guru
Eferzz
Posts: 2,241
Registered: ‎07-28-2011

Re: Picture is too large for my TV screen

[ Edited ]

shirley3kevin wrote:

When origianlly setting it up, my tv was set to a small size so when I maximized the screen in setup and then put tv screen to origianl size it made my reue screen too big.  Am I out of luck?


I think your television settings are set to automatically enlarge the video from the Logitech Revue.  I suggest you go through its settings to find a way to remove that as the default behavior instead of having to toggle it on a per instant basis.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
CatLogitech
Posts: 3,664
Registered: ‎10-05-2010

Re: Picture is too large for my TV screen

Hello Shirley3kevin,

 

I had this exact issue with another customer. They had to change their picture settings on their TV to "dot-to-dot"

 

What TV do you have?

--------------------------------------
Cat
Logitech Support Specialist

If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Logi Visitor
snackbidi
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎11-12-2010

Re: Picture is too large for my TV screen

Yeah there should be some sort of zoom or over scan setting on your television. It could be called "true dot" or something like the last post mentioned. Change that setting back to normal, reset, or whatever returns the image to its true, unaltered size and aspect ratio. Disable all zoom and aspect/wide settings. Once the TV's image size settings are returned to stock or raw (untouched), redo the Revue's initial setup or access the option through the settings menu on the Revue. That particular setup screen allows you to use the directional keys on the revue keyboard (up, down, left, right) to control the size of each respective side. With the left key, you can make the left side go farther out (bigger), or in closer to the center (smaller). It lets you do that for all four sides so you can make the Revue fit perfectly into the confines and size of your TVs resolution. If you do that then 100% of material that the Revue puts on the screen, including text and video and broadcast and the browser, will fit absolutely perfectly as long as you don't mess around with the TVs zoom/over scan/widescreen settings any more. If for SD content you want the image zoomed in, filled the screen, or wide aspect, all you have to do is press the pgup/pgdn or * button on the remote of your satellite receiver or cable box or whatever, because those devices have their own functions to do all that stuff directly from the source, without messing with your tv settings, the way its supposed to be. You can then program a button or function on the Revue keyboard to carry out that same zoom/aspect setting change through the source of the broadcast video. I think that this should cover all your bases and I hope it helps. Sent from my Motorola Xoom with LogiForum.
Logi Browser
shirley3kevin
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-27-2011

Re: Picture is too large for my TV screen

Thank you very much. You said I could reduce the revue with the arrows keys, that is exactly what I have been trying to figure out how to do. 99% of the time the TV and HD receiver stay at one particular size and this size is where the revue is way too big. I didn't want to have to change pic size every time I used the revue so I will go and check out the arrow keys to se if I can get the revue o fit and stay fit. I will let you know my outcome here shortly. Again thank you for taking your time out of your day to help me :-)
Logi Browser
shirley3kevin
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-27-2011

Re: Picture is too large for my TV screen

I have a smasung 5500 and when initially setting up the revue the screen size on the tv was set small (not normal) so when I setup the revue and used the arrow keys to make the black zoom to show no blue it made the revue too big when i set my tv to normal pic size.

 

I need to minimize, reduce the revue screen size and I tried the setup again but there is no blue showing at all unless I keep reducing the size of my tv, which in turn makes the size so small I can not read the revue on the tv.

 

So I really need to be able to reduce the size of the revue and can not find any way at all to do this.  If I leave it as it and as said reduce the size of my tv then the revue is useless and would have a better view just hooking laptop up to tv.

 

My revue tv settings does not have an option to center the box to the tv screen nor reduce the size, reset to factory settings is no good.   

Logi Browser
shirley3kevin
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-27-2011

Re: Picture is too large for my TV screen

What is dot to dot for tv settings?  Then again as stated; I unfortunately had tv set to a small screen size when i initially setup the revue so now the revue is stuck to extremely large unless i keep tv on a very small size, which again makes viewing it way too little.  You are all appreciated with all the help, thank you so much.  I really like the revue and would love to be able to use it comfortably.