Reply
Logi Browser
logitechpood
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-02-2011
Accepted Solution

Revue, Google TV, and Comcast issues

Hi,

 

We use Comcast and have the RNG 150 STB. I've connected them with an HDMI cable, and tried the one that came with Google TV and one I had on hand. Issues:

  • I can get only one TV channel on Google TV. I can't change the channel.
  • I can't make the cable guide appear.
  • I can't power off the TV, STB, or audio receiver.
  • I can't get the Revue to recognize our Squeezebox. 
  • I want to change the sound source eventually so that it's the audio receiver and not the TV.

I haven't connected the audio receiver to the Revue yet because I don't have the right cable; I need SPDIF to RCA. Right now, the audio receiver is connected to the cable box via RCA cables.

 

What I can do: Get the TV tiny window to appear on the Home page, use the Internet, choose apps, etc.

 

Also, is there a Facebook app for Google TV?

 

Thanks very much!

Logi Guru
Eferzz
Posts: 2,241
Registered: ‎07-28-2011

Re: Revue, Google TV, and Comcast issues


logitechpood wrote:

We use Comcast and have the RNG 150 STB. I've connected them with an HDMI cable, and tried the one that came with Google TV and one I had on hand. Issues:

  • I can get only one TV channel on Google TV. I can't change the channel.
  • I can't make the cable guide appear.
  • I can't power off the TV, STB, or audio receiver.
  • I can't get the Revue to recognize our Squeezebox. 
  • I want to change the sound source eventually so that it's the audio receiver and not the TV.

It sounds like you hooked up the Comcast RNG 150 STB to the Revue, but did you configure the Revue to work with the Comcast RNG 150 STB?  Here's a tutorialhttp://www.googletvforum.org/forum/logitech-revue/2679-how-setup-other-devices-logitech-revue.html#p...

 


logitechpood wrote:

What I can do: Get the TV tiny window to appear on the Home page, use the Internet, choose apps, etc.


Use the Dual View button on the Revue's Keyboard.  The symbol looks like a hollow rectangle with a smaller soild rectangle inside of it.  It is positioned on the right-side of the keyboard adjacent to D-Pad on the lower-right, and its directly above the Fast Forward/Skip Next button.

 


logitechpood wrote:

Also, is there a Facebook app for Google TV?


There was one during beta but it was removed for some reason.  The website is still available through the browser.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Logi Browser
logitechpood
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-02-2011

Re: Revue, Google TV, and Comcast issues

[ Edited ]

Thanks. I have basically configured the STB to work with the Revue, but will try teaching it three commands, as those instructions say. 

 

I didn't mean that I have trouble doing the following things: "What I can do: Get the TV tiny window to appear on the Home page, use the Internet, choose apps, etc"

Those are things that I actually can do.

 

The problems are with the STB. And with not being able to power off. And with not getting the revue to pair with my Squeezebox. And not knowing how to switch the audio setting (which I'll want to do once I have the right cable) so that the revue controls sound via my AR.

 

I think your linked article may answer a question I forgot to ask: how to add my Blu-Ray disc player to the Revue.

Thanks again!

 

 

 

Logi Guru
Eferzz
Posts: 2,241
Registered: ‎07-28-2011

Re: Revue, Google TV, and Comcast issues

[ Edited ]

logitechpood wrote:

The problems are with the STB. And with not being able to power off. And with not getting the revue to pair with my Squeezebox. And not knowing how to switch the audio setting (which I'll want to do once I have the right cable) so that the revue controls sound via my AR.


Unfortunately, I don't have a Squeezebox so I don't understand how the two can be "paired".  Perhaps you're thinking that one of the two can act as a server while the other a client?  All I know, is the Logitech Revue can only act as a DLNA client through the Logitech Media Player application.  It does not currently have the capacity to act as a server.  It can connect to a device running Logitech Media Server 7.7 (formly known as the Squeezebox Media Server).

 


logitechpood wrote:
I think your linked article may answer a question I forgot to ask: how to add my Blu-Ray disc player to the Revue.

Thanks again!


The Logitech Revue has a limitation of download three remote profiles from the Logitech Harmony.  This can be dones as a "Set-top box", "AV Receiver". or a "Television".  While you're not restricted to pairing specific device to the category, you can only download three remote profiles.  For example, I had configured my Xbox 360 as a AV Reciever on the Logitech Revue.  This allowed me to customize the keyboard controller with the IR commands pulled down from the Logitech Harmony Database.  Alternatively, if you have already used all three profiles then you'll have to teach the IR codes from your Blu-Ray remote into one of the three profiles for the [Fn]+[A-Z,0-9] key combinations to control it.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Logi Browser
logitechpood
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-02-2011

Re: Revue, Google TV, and Comcast issues

Oh, I thought that "pairing" meant adding to, as in, making Google TV control my Squeezebox. It sounds like I have to get another Harmony, since mine is pretty worn out at this point. I had hoped the Google TV would take over its functions.  Thanks!

Logi Guru
Eferzz
Posts: 2,241
Registered: ‎07-28-2011

Re: Revue, Google TV, and Comcast issues


logitechpood wrote:

Oh, I thought that "pairing" meant adding to, as in, making Google TV control my Squeezebox. It sounds like I have to get another Harmony, since mine is pretty worn out at this point. I had hoped the Google TV would take over its functions.  Thanks!


Pairing in the context of control for the Revue is setting up the connectivity between the internal Unify receiver and optional Unify devices; e,g, mice and keyboards.

 

If your Squeezebox can be controlled via IR then you can teach those signals to the Revue and have the commands emit upon the keypress of a [Fn]+[A-Z,0-9] combination.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
CatLogitech
Posts: 3,664
Registered: ‎10-05-2010

Re: Revue, Google TV, and Comcast issues

Hello logitechpood,

 

At this time there is no app available for the Revue like "Squeezeplay" or "SoftSqueeze" for the computer. Even those are beta programs and not supported.

 

Only Squeezebox players can be synced with players and Controller Apps on smart phones to control your Squeezebox.

 

 

There is the new Logitech Media Server which is taking over for the Squeezebox Server, but that is just so you can have your Revue access your media on your computer through the Logitech Media Player on the Revue.

 

The Logitech Media Server is the same as Squeezebox Server basically.

 

 

--------------------------------------
Cat
Logitech Support Specialist

If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Logi Browser
logitechpood
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-02-2011

Re: Revue, Google TV, and Comcast issues

Thanks for the information about the Squeezebox. 

 

I got through to customer service and they gave me a very simple solution to my other problems. The Comcast RNG-150 works fine with Revue. The problem was that my Revue and the IR blaster were too far away from my set-top box and audio receiver, plus the TV stand walls were in the way. I rearranged things and all works perfectly--TV power, STB guide and other commands, and receiver. 

 

Thanks for all your help! I will have more questions, I'm sure.