Reply
Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
CatLogitech
Posts: 3,664
Registered: ‎10-05-2010

Re: Setup Authentication Error

[ Edited ]

Our engineers are looking into this more, but not all users are being effected by this so it is probably not due to the cancellation of the product. As soon as Peter finds anything out he will update everyone.

 

Thank you for providing the requested information, though he would also like to know where it was purchased and when.

 

So Peter needs:

 

1. Serial numbers (It will start with 11 (meaning 2011) and have "GB" in it) from the package as well as the unit

2. WLAN wifi and LAN wifi

3. Where and when it was purchased. 

4. If it was new or Refurbished.

 

If you do not want to post on here you can PM Peter. Just click his name and on the right hand side in grey it will say "Send user a private message."

--------------------------------------
Cat
Logitech Support Specialist

If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Logi Browser
carrdm
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-20-2011

Re: Setup Authentication Error

Hi,

 

  The part numbers are 1 digit off between my device and the box as well.  This issue does seem isolated to newly sold devices from various locations.

 

I'm just speculating here, but perhaps this is why when the device is being registered with the Logitech server it fails as the two should match.  The device number 'sold' doesn't match the device number attempting to 'register'.  If the device number is not unique or logged as 'sold'  it might cause a conflict or get rejected on the Logitech db side during the registration process.

 

 Just a thought....

 

 

 

 

 

Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
Peter_Logi
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎12-09-2011

Re: Setup Authentication Error

[ Edited ]

carrdm

 

Nice theory :-)  The two numbers being off by one is quite normal - one is for the complete package and one is for the Revue unit only.

 

Please keep the serial numbers coming - I have 10 so far. If you get it off the packaging it ends in 9 and if it ends in 8, it is just the Revue unit.

 

thanks

 

peter

Logi Nu
scottm1959
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-23-2011

Re: Setup Authentication Error

Add me to the authorization problem. I am NOT computer saavy so hopefully there is a very plain solution to our dilemna. Like everyone else I am extremely disappointed.

Logi Nu
scottm1959
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-23-2011

Re: Setup Authentication Error

1149B007258

GAIBU5821A0069

Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
Peter_Logi
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎12-09-2011

Re: Setup Authentication Error

Thanks

 

Sorry - one more thing to ask- can you turn over your Revue box and read what the LAN MAC is. It is written in small letters on a white sticker.

 

regards

Logi Nu
Pablo7000
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-23-2011

Re: Setup Authentication Error


Peter,

 

I'm having authentication issues at step 7 of 11. 

 

My LAN MAC: 1C6F657AFD5E

 

And from the bottom of Revue unit: 1035GB016698 -- Was this mfd. in 2010?

 

Purchased new at Best Buy Dec 16, 2011, as the Revue plus Cam bundle.  No "GB" serial number on box. 

 

Thanks for the help. 

Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
Peter_Logi
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎12-09-2011

Re: Setup Authentication Error

[ Edited ]

Quick update - thanks everyone for your patience and your help.

 

There appears to be corrupted firmware on some of the recently manufactured Revues which is causing the Authentication error.  There is nothing that you can do to fix this and nothing we can do except to replace your Revue via the RMA process.  You  always have the option of returning to the retailer and exchanging for another Revue or getting a refund.  We believe that only a relatively small % of recently manufactured Revues are affected.

 

I have contacted one of our CS managers with the Forum user names of the folks who have identified through this Forum thread and emailing/PMing me that they have an issue with Step 7 of the setup.  You should be hearing from CS folks via the Private Message (PM) mechanism shortly. I do not know exactly when.  If you are reading this after my post, then please call Customer Support and have them deal with the RMA, if that is the route you choose.

 

I am out on vacation next week, so hope you all have a very Happy Holidays.

Logi Nu
f0nz0
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-23-2011

Re: Setup Authentication Error

thanks for the heads up on this issue...

 

now ill just take the device back to bestbuy, i do have a question though, is there any way to tell from the serial number which units are affected by this corrupt firmware? should i be looking at specific serial numbers? or is it not known what batch has issues?

Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
CatLogitech
Posts: 3,664
Registered: ‎10-05-2010

Re: Setup Authentication Error

If you are still within your return policy from the retailer you bought it from and you do not wish to go through us you can go through them.

--------------------------------------
Cat
Logitech Support Specialist

If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.