Logi Browser
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-29-2011

C920 Hollow Sounding Audio

[ Edited ]

I saw this reported on several sites, but bought the C920 anyway because I've had no problems with Logitech before.  But, the sound to the other side of a Skype call is hollow or echo like.  Is this just the way it is with this model?  Or is there a fix or work around?  I'll probably need to take it back if this is an unfixable problem.  BTW:  I'm running Windows 7/64bit.

Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
Posts: 4,496
Registered: ‎08-02-2012

Re: C920 Hollow Sounding Audio

[ Edited ]

Hi BWeech,


Could you please try the following:


  1. Go to your Start Menu
  2. Open Control Panel
  3. Go to Hardware and Sound
  4. Open the Device Manager Option
  5. Scroll down to Sound, video and game controllers
  6. Open the Drop down menu
  7. Select the Logitech C920 and double click it
  8. A window will pop up
  9. Go to the Drivers Tab
  10. Click on "Uninstall" 
  11. Unplug your Logitech C920
  12. Restart your computer
  13. Plug the Logitech C920 once again

Check if you still experience the same behavior.


Please give this a try and let me know how it worked for you

Kind regards,

Support Specialist

If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.


Support Home Page | Downloads | Contact Support | Manuals | Warranty | Check Rebate Status
All opinions written here are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of my employer.

Logi Browser
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-29-2011

Re: C920 Hollow Sounding Audio

Sorry for taking so long to get back.  I did as you instructed, but no joy.  It still sounds tinny....

Posts: 49,189
Topics: 256
Kudos: 1,510
Solutions: 541
Registered: ‎05-22-2006
Country: United States

Re: C920 Hollow Sounding Audio

Welcome to the Logitech Community Webcam Forum BWeech! Smiley Happy

Does this issue occur when the Logitech RightSound™ Technology feature is not enabled?


KachiWachi - Webcam Forum Guru (2002), Logi Legend (2007), Distinguished Logi Legend (2010), QuickCam® Team Forums (2007)
(I am not affiliated with Logitech®, Inc., Lithium™ Technologies, Inc., RightNow® Technologies, Inc., or, Inc.)
  Have you checked your Logitech Forums Private Messages today?  

If you are looking for official Logitech Customer / Technical Support, please >> CLICK HERE <<

In order to help keep the forum content "fresh", please do not post a reply to any thread that is over six (6) months old.

* As of October 1, 2015, I will be providing "general" troubleshooting assistance in the public forums once 24 hours have passed.
* Also, if I do respond to your issue, and for all "advanced" issues, please check to see if I have sent you a Private Message as well.
* Thanks.

* PS - If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" buttons, so that this information can benefit others.

New to Webcams? START HERE!

Logitech Webcam Software 2.x (a.k.a. QuickCam 13.x) - Issues and Solutions
Logitech Webcam Software 1.00.1280 / 1.10.1113 (a.k.a. QuickCam 12.x) - Issues and Solutions
QuickCam / / / / - Issues and Solutions

Is your problem one of these older, common, known, or repeat issues?     "Everything Macintosh"
How to make your Logitech camera work in an IM                     Are you looking for (older) software?
Why your older Logitech camera *may* not be supported on Windows Vista, 7-10, and/or on a 64-bit OS