Logi Nu
boulderskier

webcam mic cuts out when using Skype

[ Edited ]
Recently, I have begun experiencing an audio problem when using Skype. Shortly after connecting with someone the audio cuts in and out. I have the QuickCam Communicate STX and I am using Skype (v3.6) I typically use an older Dell Dimension system but I have the same problem when I installed it onto my Core Duo laptop (Inspiron 9400). I try to keep all my software up to date either with automatic updates or manual updates every few weeks.

I have been using the Logitech webcam hardware and Skype for the past 9 or 10 months. I have only experienced the audio problem in the last few weeks or month or so. Prior to that the webcam and skype were working flawlessly together. I cannot recall if is started after a specific update but is not fixed by installing the most up-to-date versions of either Skype or QuickCam.

Here's is what I have determined. The webcam works fine when recording audio and/or video onto the hard drive. The video works fine in Skype. When using Skype and the mic that is built into the Logitech webcam the audio cuts in and out shortly after a connection is made. If I plug a stand alone mic into my machine and use that with the webcam the audio returns to working fine.

Alas, it appears to me to be an issue with either a recent update to the QuickCam software or drivers or Skype, or how they work together. Unfortunately, I don't feel that the problem is truly Logitech's issue but I hope that if other are experiencing the same problem a solution can be found.

Here's a little more info about my system:
Logitech QuickCam Communicate STX
Logitech Quickcam Software v11.5.0.1169
Mic & Camera driver dated: 10/11/2007 v11.5.0.1145
Skype v3.6.0.244
Dell Dimension 8200
Windows XP Pro (service Pack 2)
Pentium 4, 1.70 GHz w/ 256 MB ram