Reply
Logi Nu
share24
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-29-2012

C615...no video

New install of C615 webcam on Windows 7.

When I go into the software for a quick capture I get a black screen. It isn't picking up video.

I can click the button to take a picture or start recording video and I get the 3-2-1 countdown but nothing after that.

When shooting video, I can play the video back and get the audio, but the screen remains black.

I have tried Skype and Facebook.

Skype says another program is using the camera. Facebook will show my friend on their cam, but won't show me, despite picking up the model of the camera and displaying it at the bottom of the video screen.

Retired Logitech Employee / Moderator (Inactive)
jam0209
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎03-31-2010

Re: C615...no video

Hello share24,

 

If you just get a black screen using the webcam, plug the webcam on different USB ports of your computer. If you still get the same results, check the drivers of the webcam if its properly installed. Go to Control panel / System / Device manager. Under Imaging device, it should show Logitech C615. If there is an error or an exclamation / question mark, right click on the driver and choose update device driver and choose update automatically.

If the problem persists, un-install the Logitech webcam software and try the webcam in Skype or Facebook. The webcam can work without the software installed because it will use the generic USB drivers of your Windows 7 operating system.

If the video still doesn't work, your last option is to try the webcam on another computer ( without the webcam software installed / plug and play ) so you can isolate the issue if its the webcam or the computer. If the video of the webcam works on another computer then the webcam is not defective. You might need to update the USB video driver on the other computer.

 

jam0209

Support Specialist

      
Support Home Page | Downloads | Contact Support | Manuals | Warranty | Check Rebate Status
If a reply adequately addresses your technical issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
All opinions written here are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of my employer.
Logi Nu
share24
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-29-2012

Re: C615...no video

I have still had no luck with this...the webcam works on my laptop (Windows XP), but not on the desktop. 


I've uninstalled the software, reinstalled it, everything you can think of.

 

I came across this http://forums.logitech.com/t5/Webcams/Logitech-QuickCam-Pro-9000-won-t-work-in-Windows-7-64-bit/td-p... for a different model, but thought I'd give the fix a try since it was the same issue. The only thing that happened by editing the registry was that my audio output device wasn't found. 

 

Any other suggestions?

KachiWachi
Posts: 48,155
Topics: 251
Kudos: 1,294
Solutions: 505
Registered: ‎05-22-2006
Country: United States

Re: C615...no video

Welcome to the Logitech Community Webcam Forum share24! :smileyhappy:


Earlier in this thread, share24 sez -

When I go into the software for a quick capture I get a black screen. It isn't picking up video.



Does this issue occur when the camera is being used in third-party video recording software (e.g., AMCap, Windows Media Encoder, etc...)?



Thanks.


KachiWachi - Webcam Forum Guru (2002), Logi Legend (2007), Distinguished Logi Legend (2010), QuickCam® Team Forums (2007)
(I am not affiliated with Logitech®, Inc., Lithium™ Technologies, Inc., RightNow® Technologies, Inc., or Salesforce.com, Inc.)
  Have you checked your Logitech Forums Private Messages today?  

If you are looking for official Logitech Customer / Technical Support, please >> CLICK HERE <<

In order to help keep the forum content "fresh", please do not post a reply to any thread that is over six (6) months old.


* Please note that I am currently providing LIMITED "general" troubleshooting assistance in the public forums at this time.
* However, if I am interested in your issue, and for all "advanced" issues, I will be sending you a Private Message before then.
* Thanks.

* PS - If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" buttons, so that this information can benefit others.

New to Webcams? START HERE!

Logitech Webcam Software 2.x (a.k.a. QuickCam 13.x) - Issues and Solutions
Logitech Webcam Software 1.00.1280 / 1.10.1113 (a.k.a. QuickCam 12.x) - Issues and Solutions
QuickCam 11.0.0.1218 / 11.1.0.2030 / 11.5.0.1169 / 11.8.0.1065 / 11.9.0.1263 - Issues and Solutions

Is your problem one of these older, common, known, or repeat issues?     "Everything Macintosh"
How to make your Logitech camera work in an IM                     Are you looking for (older) software?
Why your older Logitech camera *may* not be supported on Windows Vista, 7, 8, and/or on a 64-bit OS
Logi Nu
BeerGeek81
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-05-2013

Re: C615...no video

I also have the same Black Screen issues with this cam, I have done everything listed in this support forum. Now the only other thing that has been different is that I got it to work on another computer just not the one I need it to work on. Skype don't work, the logitech software video and picture software don't work. I need it up and running asap for work, please help. I'm running on Win 7 Ult and I've updated all my drivers and closed any an all programs I know that would use the cam at the same time. I don't get it.

KachiWachi
Posts: 48,155
Topics: 251
Kudos: 1,294
Solutions: 505
Registered: ‎05-22-2006
Country: United States

Re: C615...no video

Welcome to the Logitech Community Webcam Forum BeerGeek81! :smileyhappy:


BeerGeek81 sez -

Skype don't work, the logitech software video and picture software don't work..



Does this issue occur when the camera is being used in third-party video recording software (e.g., AMCap, Windows Media Encoder, etc...)?



Thanks.


KachiWachi - Webcam Forum Guru (2002), Logi Legend (2007), Distinguished Logi Legend (2010), QuickCam® Team Forums (2007)
(I am not affiliated with Logitech®, Inc., Lithium™ Technologies, Inc., RightNow® Technologies, Inc., or Salesforce.com, Inc.)
  Have you checked your Logitech Forums Private Messages today?  

If you are looking for official Logitech Customer / Technical Support, please >> CLICK HERE <<

In order to help keep the forum content "fresh", please do not post a reply to any thread that is over six (6) months old.


* Please note that I am currently providing LIMITED "general" troubleshooting assistance in the public forums at this time.
* However, if I am interested in your issue, and for all "advanced" issues, I will be sending you a Private Message before then.
* Thanks.

* PS - If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" buttons, so that this information can benefit others.

New to Webcams? START HERE!

Logitech Webcam Software 2.x (a.k.a. QuickCam 13.x) - Issues and Solutions
Logitech Webcam Software 1.00.1280 / 1.10.1113 (a.k.a. QuickCam 12.x) - Issues and Solutions
QuickCam 11.0.0.1218 / 11.1.0.2030 / 11.5.0.1169 / 11.8.0.1065 / 11.9.0.1263 - Issues and Solutions

Is your problem one of these older, common, known, or repeat issues?     "Everything Macintosh"
How to make your Logitech camera work in an IM                     Are you looking for (older) software?
Why your older Logitech camera *may* not be supported on Windows Vista, 7, 8, and/or on a 64-bit OS