Reply
Logi Browser
scottthepotter
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-11-2007

QuickCam software fails to launch

I have recently tried to install my Logitech QuickCam Pro 5000 on my XP machine. I have XP pro with SP 2. The software installed fine, I can select the device from the Explore window and I can view with it, so I know that the driver was installed correctly. When I launch QuickCam I get a brief pause and then nothing. I tried the clean install, and that didn't work. I am getting the following events in the Application log of the Event View in this order:

The COM+ Event System failed to create an instance of the subscriber partition:{41E90F3E-56C1-4633-81C3-6E8BAC8BDD70}!new:{6295DF2D-35EE-11D1-8707-00C04FD93327}. CoGetObject returned HRESULT 8000401A.

Detection of product '{31C50740-FC5A-4C6C-B91B-E3B5DFADC824}', feature 'QuickCam', component '{B52C7B4D-F46F-438C-ADF2-05A138C57757}' failed. The resource 'HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Logitech\QuickCam10\DesktopShortcutKey' does not exist.

Detection of product '{31C50740-FC5A-4C6C-B91B-E3B5DFADC824}', feature 'QuickCam' failed during request for component '{60B1E8AF-0703-4DCC-94C2-4E0BBE92E911}'

Detection of product '{31C50740-FC5A-4C6C-B91B-E3B5DFADC824}', feature 'QuickCam', component '{B52C7B4D-F46F-438C-ADF2-05A138C57757}' failed. The resource 'HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Logitech\QuickCam10\DesktopShortcutKey' does not exist.

Detection of product '{31C50740-FC5A-4C6C-B91B-E3B5DFADC824}', feature 'QuickCam' failed during request for component '{60B1E8AF-0703-4DCC-94C2-4E0BBE92E911}'

The second warning is in fact incorrect as the entry does exist in the Registry with a value of "1" which I believe is a boolean for true. The software is version 10.5 build 1096b. I do have the latest version of DirectX and I do have Internet Explorer 6 installed however it is not my default browser (like that should make a difference). I do have several more (4 to be exact) processes running since installing, although I can't identify what the new ones are. I believe one of them is LVComSX.ese but not sure. I had disabled my Antivirus Software (Avast). Not sure what else to try.

There is a service that is stopped, LVSrvLauncher, but if I try to start it manually it immediately starts then stops again, I have verified this in Event viewer as well, but there are no warnings just information logs. I have checked all of the posts that looked like they were relevant and tried various things like downloading and installing the MICROSOFT VISUAL C++ 2005 RUNTIME LIBRARIES, that got rid of some "Side by Side" error messages that I had gotten earlier in the System log of the Event Viewer, but didn't seem to allow the QuickCam software to start. I am stumped.

Scott
KachiWachi
Posts: 47,826
Topics: 251
Kudos: 1,260
Solutions: 500
Registered: ‎05-22-2006

Re: QuickCam software fails to launch

Welcome to the Logitech Community Webcam Forum scottthepotter! :smileyhappy
 
Since this is a technical issue, please wait for a Logitech Support Specialist to assist you.
 
Thanks.


KachiWachi - Webcam Forum Guru (2002), Logi Legend (2007), Distinguished Logi Legend (2010), QuickCam® Team Forums (2007)
(I am not affiliated with Logitech®, Inc., Lithium™ Technologies, Inc., or RightNow® Technologies, Inc.)
  Have you checked your Logitech Forums Private Messages today?  

If you are looking for official Logitech Customer / Technical Support, please >> CLICK HERE <<

In order to help keep the forum content "fresh", please do not post a reply to any thread that is over six (6) months old.


* Please note that I am currently providing "general" troubleshooting assistance in the public forums once 24 hours have passed.
* However, if I am interested in your issue, and for all "advanced" issues, I will be sending you a Private Message before then.
* Thanks.

* PS - If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" buttons, so that this information can benefit others.

New to Webcams? START HERE!

Logitech Webcam Software 2.x (a.k.a. QuickCam 13.x) - Issues and Solutions
Logitech Webcam Software 1.00.1280 / 1.10.1113 (a.k.a. QuickCam 12.x) - Issues and Solutions
QuickCam 11.0.0.1218 / 11.1.0.2030 / 11.5.0.1169 / 11.8.0.1065 / 11.9.0.1263 - Issues and Solutions

Is your problem one of these older, common, known, or repeat issues?     "Everything Macintosh"
How to make your Logitech camera work in an IM                     Are you looking for (older) software?
Why your older Logitech camera *may* not be supported on Windows Vista, 7, 8, and/or on a 64-bit OS
Logi Nu
CSRPhoto
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-13-2007

Re: QuickCam software fails to launch

I too am having the same problem, only with the QuickCam Orbit MP. I get all the same errors, but noticed one thing that scottthepotter may not have noticed (or maybe its just me). What I found out is that the problem only occurs when I'm logging on with a Domain User account, regardless of whether or not the account has Admin rights or not. Furthermore, if I log on with a local account (be it Admin, Standard User, or Power user) the software loads fine and the camera works great. So their is something preventing Domain Users from utilizing the software. I hope this sheds some light on the matter as I need to get this camera working for some serious brass where I work. Any ideas?
KachiWachi
Posts: 47,826
Topics: 251
Kudos: 1,260
Solutions: 500
Registered: ‎05-22-2006

Re: QuickCam software fails to launch

Welcome to the Logitech Community Webcam Forum CSRPhoto! :smileyhappy:
 
There was some discussion about this (Domain User account).
 
Search the forum using some of the terms you mention for more information.
 
Thanks.


KachiWachi - Webcam Forum Guru (2002), Logi Legend (2007), Distinguished Logi Legend (2010), QuickCam® Team Forums (2007)
(I am not affiliated with Logitech®, Inc., Lithium™ Technologies, Inc., or RightNow® Technologies, Inc.)
  Have you checked your Logitech Forums Private Messages today?  

If you are looking for official Logitech Customer / Technical Support, please >> CLICK HERE <<

In order to help keep the forum content "fresh", please do not post a reply to any thread that is over six (6) months old.


* Please note that I am currently providing "general" troubleshooting assistance in the public forums once 24 hours have passed.
* However, if I am interested in your issue, and for all "advanced" issues, I will be sending you a Private Message before then.
* Thanks.

* PS - If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" buttons, so that this information can benefit others.

New to Webcams? START HERE!

Logitech Webcam Software 2.x (a.k.a. QuickCam 13.x) - Issues and Solutions
Logitech Webcam Software 1.00.1280 / 1.10.1113 (a.k.a. QuickCam 12.x) - Issues and Solutions
QuickCam 11.0.0.1218 / 11.1.0.2030 / 11.5.0.1169 / 11.8.0.1065 / 11.9.0.1263 - Issues and Solutions

Is your problem one of these older, common, known, or repeat issues?     "Everything Macintosh"
How to make your Logitech camera work in an IM                     Are you looking for (older) software?
Why your older Logitech camera *may* not be supported on Windows Vista, 7, 8, and/or on a 64-bit OS
Logi Browser
scottthepotter
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-11-2007

Re: QuickCam software fails to launch

I didn't notice it as an issue with the Domain account as such, what I did find out is if I logged in as a domain user that has never logged onto this machine before, is that the software will launch, it just won't recognize that I have a WebCam attached. I will try as a local administrative user, and see what happens.
Logi Browser
scottthepotter
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-11-2007

Re: QuickCam software fails to launch

No, I found a whole new problem when I tried to login as a local administrator. Since I initially ran the installer from a mapped drive, when I logged in as a local administrator it tried to install the software (why it can't use the initial install is beyond me) it couldn't because the drive was no longer mapped. I will try to map the drive, and re-login to see how far I get. This should provide a useful thread for others that have such problems.
KachiWachi
Posts: 47,826
Topics: 251
Kudos: 1,260
Solutions: 500
Registered: ‎05-22-2006

Re: QuickCam software fails to launch

QuickCam runs for every new user that logs into the machine, if it has not done so already. This is by design (see geepers post on this here and here).
 
Even though the QuickCam  software is installed per machine, the user preferences are not, so this is why the software "runs".
 
Thanks.


KachiWachi - Webcam Forum Guru (2002), Logi Legend (2007), Distinguished Logi Legend (2010), QuickCam® Team Forums (2007)
(I am not affiliated with Logitech®, Inc., Lithium™ Technologies, Inc., or RightNow® Technologies, Inc.)
  Have you checked your Logitech Forums Private Messages today?  

If you are looking for official Logitech Customer / Technical Support, please >> CLICK HERE <<

In order to help keep the forum content "fresh", please do not post a reply to any thread that is over six (6) months old.


* Please note that I am currently providing "general" troubleshooting assistance in the public forums once 24 hours have passed.
* However, if I am interested in your issue, and for all "advanced" issues, I will be sending you a Private Message before then.
* Thanks.

* PS - If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" buttons, so that this information can benefit others.

New to Webcams? START HERE!

Logitech Webcam Software 2.x (a.k.a. QuickCam 13.x) - Issues and Solutions
Logitech Webcam Software 1.00.1280 / 1.10.1113 (a.k.a. QuickCam 12.x) - Issues and Solutions
QuickCam 11.0.0.1218 / 11.1.0.2030 / 11.5.0.1169 / 11.8.0.1065 / 11.9.0.1263 - Issues and Solutions

Is your problem one of these older, common, known, or repeat issues?     "Everything Macintosh"
How to make your Logitech camera work in an IM                     Are you looking for (older) software?
Why your older Logitech camera *may* not be supported on Windows Vista, 7, 8, and/or on a 64-bit OS
Logi Nu
CSRPhoto
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-13-2007

Re: QuickCam software fails to launch

Well, I tried logging on as a "test" Domain Account, which did run the software installation (I installed QuickCam from the root of C:\, so I didn't run into the same issues ScottThePotter did). Allthought the setup ran fine, QuickCam still woould not start. I did however find the thread KachiWachi was refering to (http://forums.logitech.com/logitech/board/message?board.id=quickcam_software&message.id=9195), and am going to try disabling the redirect (for "My Documents" in my case). Will report back here with results.
KachiWachi
Posts: 47,826
Topics: 251
Kudos: 1,260
Solutions: 500
Registered: ‎05-22-2006

Re: QuickCam software fails to launch

[ Edited ]
Thanks for posting the Domain Account link CSRPhoto.
 
 
Note - You can easily search the forum for more information (Keyword(s) = domain account).
 

Message Edited by KachiWachi on 02-14-200707:37 PM



KachiWachi - Webcam Forum Guru (2002), Logi Legend (2007), Distinguished Logi Legend (2010), QuickCam® Team Forums (2007)
(I am not affiliated with Logitech®, Inc., Lithium™ Technologies, Inc., or RightNow® Technologies, Inc.)
  Have you checked your Logitech Forums Private Messages today?  

If you are looking for official Logitech Customer / Technical Support, please >> CLICK HERE <<

In order to help keep the forum content "fresh", please do not post a reply to any thread that is over six (6) months old.


* Please note that I am currently providing "general" troubleshooting assistance in the public forums once 24 hours have passed.
* However, if I am interested in your issue, and for all "advanced" issues, I will be sending you a Private Message before then.
* Thanks.

* PS - If one of my replies has adequately addressed your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" buttons, so that this information can benefit others.

New to Webcams? START HERE!

Logitech Webcam Software 2.x (a.k.a. QuickCam 13.x) - Issues and Solutions
Logitech Webcam Software 1.00.1280 / 1.10.1113 (a.k.a. QuickCam 12.x) - Issues and Solutions
QuickCam 11.0.0.1218 / 11.1.0.2030 / 11.5.0.1169 / 11.8.0.1065 / 11.9.0.1263 - Issues and Solutions

Is your problem one of these older, common, known, or repeat issues?     "Everything Macintosh"
How to make your Logitech camera work in an IM                     Are you looking for (older) software?
Why your older Logitech camera *may* not be supported on Windows Vista, 7, 8, and/or on a 64-bit OS
Logi Nu
CSRPhoto
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-13-2007

Re: QuickCam software fails to launch

Ok, I figured out a workaround but first here is what I observed in my testing:

 

  1. The installation is not successful if the domain account has a "My Documents" folder redirect.
  2. The installation doesn't run if the domain account already has an existing profile (with folder redirection enabled) on the PC.
  3. The installation will be successful if the new profile is created w/o folder redirection. After the installation is successful, the folder redirection can then be enabled and will work.

This is all fine and good, if the camera is being installed on a new PC where the user has not logged on before. But in my case, as is the case for others I'm sure, the user has a domain account with an existing profile on their PC, and that profile probably has a lot of customizations and tweaks that the user would probably prefer not to lose. So one option I considered was to:

  1. Backup the existing profile
  2. Delete the profile
  3. Go into Active Directory and deny that account read access to the Group Policy that enables Redirect for the My Documents folder
  4. Have the user log on (thus creating a new profile)
  5. Verify the QuickCam installation works, then log off the user
  6. Re-enable the redirect (via removing the deny access from the user's domain account in AD)
  7. log the user back on and verify that QuickCam still works and that the folder redirection is back to normal, then log off the user (again)
  8. Copy the user's original profile over the new profile.
  9. Have the user log in and verify that everything is working and that all is as it should be.

I believe that this would work, but it just seemed far too complex and I figured there would have to be a simpler way. The problem with the installation would have to be in the registry, so what I did then was:

  1. create a new profile for a test account (with no file redirection enabled)
  2. Exported HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Logitech\QuickCam10 to the root of C:\ (anywhere jointly accessible between accounts would work though)
  3. granted the user Local Admin rights
  4. Logged in as the user and imported the reg file (after backing up the current file) and successfully tested QuickCam.
  5. Logged off the user and removed the Local Admin rights from their profile.

The user now has a fully functioning camera with QuickCam 10.5. I also saved the exported reg file and tested it on other PC's (as I have a couple more cameras to set up now). Hopefully this will help anyone else with similar problems.