Reply
Logi Nu
mrosenecker
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-22-2009

Windows 7 x64 and QuickCam Pro 5000 (A.K.A. Cisco VT Camera)

I am running the x64 version of Windows 7 Pro, and I was able to get the driver installed by doing the following:

 

1)  Download the latest driver from Logitech's website for Vista x64 for the QCP 5000.

2)  From a non-Windows 7 PC (or from XP Mode), run the installer.  Let it extract all of the files, and DO NOT PROCEED through the installation process (or if it errors, keep the error message open).  Go to the Temp folder where the files were extracted (in my case, in XP Mode, it was C:\Documents and Settings\{username}\Local Settings\Temp\QuickCam_11.1.0)  COPY (don't Move) this folder to a location that's accessible to your Windows 7 system.

3a)  For Cisco VT users, go into the \QuickCam_11.1.0\Drivers\x64\PRO464 folder and edit the lPRO464v.ini file.  Do a find-and-replace, finding 08C5 and replacing it with 08C7 (this essentially makes the ini file identify your Cisco VT device ID as a QCP 5000).  Save and close the ini file.

3b)  Go into Devices and Printers.  Go into the properties for the USB Composite Device, find the Unknown Composite Device, and update the driver.  Select to manually specify the driver location.  Point it to the \QuickCam_11.1.0\Drivers\x64\PRO464 folder, and you should be all set.

 

Optionally, go to Logitech's website and download the QuickCam Sidebar Gadget.  It's pretty sweet!

 

 

             --Mark

Logi Product Team
pedroc
Posts: 3,711
Registered: ‎12-05-2006

Re: Windows 7 x64 and QuickCam Pro 5000 (A.K.A. Cisco VT Camera)

To All,

 

You may follow the above instructions at your own risk, please do not contact Logitech Technical Support in the event your system become unstable.

 

Thanks,

 

-PedroC.

Logi Nu
CraigBYU
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-14-2009

Re: Windows 7 x64 and QuickCam Pro 5000 (A.K.A. Cisco VT Camera)

I've got your exact setup. Windows 7 x64, XP Mode, Cisco VT Camera. Your instructions look great and I would love to get my webcam working.

 

I noticed when I downloaded the QCP 5000 Vista x64 driver, it didn't have a lPRO464v.ini file. It DID have an IPRO464v.inf, but editing the .inf file as if it were the .ini file you specified, didn't seem to work.

 

Any thoughts?

Logi Nu
mrosenecker
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-22-2009

Re: Windows 7 x64 and QuickCam Pro 5000 (A.K.A. Cisco VT Camera)

Did you do a find-and-replace on ALL instances of 08C5?  There are more than one...

 

You were correct...it is an INF file, not an INI file.

Logi Nu
CraigBYU2
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-14-2009

Re: Windows 7 x64 and QuickCam Pro 5000 (A.K.A. Cisco VT Camera)

Yes. There were 85 replacements. When I point to that folder to install the driver, Windows comes right back and says that it didn't find any drivers. I tried forcing Windows to use that driver by selecting "Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer" and then browsing to the edited .inf file. After the "install", it says that Windows couldn't start the device.

 

Just to verify, my camera is the Cisco VT Camera II (V-UJ16).

 

Nice response time btw.

Logi Nu
iridiumhawk
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-20-2009

Re: Windows 7 x64 and QuickCam Pro 5000 (A.K.A. Cisco VT Camera)

I have Cisco VT Camera II (V-UAX16). Vista Ultimate SP1 64 bit. I can`t install drivers from Cisco (its only for 32 bit systems). I read this thread and download qc1100_x64.exe (DriverVer=05/11/2007, 11.0.0.1217), unpack, replace all 08C5 on 08C7, try install and... nothing. Then read another forums and find next solution: need more older drivers ! I download qc1051enu_x64.exe (DriverVer=02/03/2007, 10.5.1.2023), unpack, replace in file "lPRO364v.inf" all 08C5 on 08C7, try install and... BINGO! Driver succeseful install, ask for reboot, and after reboot and install software "QuickCam.msi", i have work webcamera!!!

Logi Nu
thenfixit
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-23-2009

Re: Windows 7 x64 and QuickCam Pro 5000 (A.K.A. Cisco VT Camera)

Instead of Saying "Don't blame us if it messes up" why not let us know if and when logitech will provide an authorized fix !!
Logi Nu
thenfixit
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-23-2009

Re: Windows 7 x64 and QuickCam Pro 5000 (A.K.A. Cisco VT Camera)

The above message was for pedro at logitech

Logi Legend
rlowens
Posts: 6,594
Registered: ‎05-22-2006

Re: Windows 7 x64 and QuickCam Pro 5000 (A.K.A. Cisco VT Camera)

[ Edited ]

I hadn't even realized that my QuickCam Pro 5000 wasn't supposed to be supported by Windows 7.

 

I'm using ftp://ftp.logitech.com/pub/techsupport/quickcam/lws100_x64.exe on Windows 7 x64.

 

No idea if that works for the Cisco VT version.


-Richard L. Owens, author of the uberOptions mod for SetPoint. Unlock the options of your SetPoint-controlled device! mirror
Logi Nu
jimslade
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Windows 7 x64 and QuickCam Pro 5000 (A.K.A. Cisco VT Camera)

Seems like the 5000 should work with Win7.

I'm trying to follow mrosenecker's instructions but am not having success.

There is a new version for download... PRO564 vs 464.  not sure that is the issue or not.

I am a Logitech fan (own several other cams and a harmony, etc), but will NOT be buying a new logitech cam for this pc if I cannot get this to work.... will be buying something else. 

 

Would really like to hear from logitech/petroc on this.